Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

Real Property

A Section of the Virginia State Bar.

Meeting Minutes - June 15, 2001

Minutes of the Virginia State Bar
Real Property Section
Board of Governors

Virginia Beach, Virginia

The summer meeting of the Board of Governors of the Real Property Section of the Virginia State Bar was held on Friday, June 15, 2001, at 12:25 p.m., in the Skytop Room at Holiday Sunspree Resort, Virginia Beach, Virginia.

The following persons were in attendance: Steve Romine, Lawrence Schonberger, Kathleen H. Michener, Susan Pesner, Richard Mendelson, Wayne Glass, Paula S. Caplinger, Rick Chess, Craig Erdmann, Chris Dillon, Larry McElwain, Page Williams, Lawrence A. Daughtrey, Lenore A. Barron, Howard E. Gordon, Christina E. Meier, Steven W. Blame, Pia Trigiani, Jim McCauley, Robert Barclay, Harry Purkey, Jean Mumm, Doug Dewing, Steve Gregory, Christian Chiles, J.B. Lonergan, Chip Land, Jane Marum Roush, Joe Cochran. John David Epperly, Chair, chaired the meeting. Steve Romine, Secretary, kept the minutes.

Mr. Epperly called the meeting to order. (See official Agenda below.)

Mr. Epperly presented the minutes of the March 24, 2001, meeting of the Real Property Section and upon motion duly made, and seconded; the minutes were unanimously approved as written by those who attended the March 24, 2001 meeting. Those not in attendance at the March 24, 2001, meeting abstained.

Mr. Epperly gave the financial report. He reported a balance of $13,330.96. He then led a discussion on William & Mary's request for reimbursement related to the publication of The Fee Simple. Upon motion made by Susan Pesner, and seconded by Christina Meier, the Executive Officers of the Section (Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary) were authorized to expend appropriate funds, in their discretion, for (1) VBA disks, as necessary, (2) reimbursement of William & Mary costs related to publication of The Fee Simple, and (3) other expenditures as deemed appropriate.

Mr. Epperly presented the membership report. Real Property Section membership is at 1,849 members. The Section membership is the third largest trailing the Litigation and Criminal Sections, respectively.

The Nominating Committee made its report. As proposed, Richard Mendelson, Lawrence Daughtrey, and Chris Dillon were elected members of the Board of Governors. The Section then elected Lawrence Schonberger, Chairman, Stephen Romine, Vice Chairman, and Paula Caplinger as Secretary.

A Seminar Committee was appointed comprising the Executive Officers and Larry McElwain. The Seminar Committee will be responsible for planning the Summer Program, the Advanced Real Estate Seminar, and the Annual Real Estate Practice Seminar.

Next, Wayne Glass and Jay Steele were elected Area Representatives by the Section membership.

Mr. Epperly led a discussion regarding articles for The Fee Simple. The next publication deadline is October 23, 2001. Susan Pesner suggested an article on the sale of small practices and receivership issues related thereto.

Doug Dewing next reported on the Wills, Trusts and Estates project concerning qualification for all estates (testate and intestate).

There were no substantive subcommittee reports.

There was no old business discussed.

Mr. Epperly distributed the schedule for future meetings. (See attached.)

The meeting adjourned by motion duly made, and seconded, at 1:10 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stephen R. Romine Secretary

June 15, 2001

I. Call to order and welcome

II. Approval of minutes from the March, 2001, meeting

III. Financial Report

IV. Membership Report

V. Election of New Board Members and Officers

VI. The Fee Simple (Lynda Butler)

VII. Report on the Wills, Trusts and Estates/Real Property Section subcommittee (Doug Dewing)

VIII. Subcommittee Reports

A. Bankruptcy: Stephen B. Wood
B. Current Developments and Legislation
C. Environmental
D. Ethics: Susan M. Pesner
E. First Day in Practice: Edward R. Waugaman
F. Housing
G. Information and Technology: Douglass W. Dewing
H. Land Use: Steven W. Blame
I. Membership: Randy C. Howard
J. Newsletter: Lynda L. Butler
K. Small Firm and Sole Practitioner: Allen C. Tanner
L. Title Insurance: Edward R. Waugaman
M. VBA Forms: Joseph W. Richmond, Jr.

IX. Old Business

X. New Business

XI. Adjourn