Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

Real Property

A Section of the Virginia State Bar.

Area Representatives

Area Representatives are categorized by six (6) regions: Northern (covering generally Loudoun County in the west to Prince William County in the east); Tidewater (covering generally the coastal jurisdictions from Northumberland County to Chesapeake); Central (covering generally the area east of the Blue Ridge Mountains, south of the Northern region, west of the Tidewater region and north of the Southside region); Southside (covering generally the jurisdictions west of the Tidewater region and south of the Central region which are not a part of the Western region); Valley (covering generally the jurisdictions south of the Northern region, west of the Central region and north of Botetourt County); and Western (covering generally the jurisdictions south of Rockbridge County and west of the Blue Ridge Mountains).

Central Region
Ross Allen
Owen & Owens
15521 Midlothian Turnpike #300
Midlothian, VA 23113
(804) 594-1911
email: rallen@owenowens.com
F. Lewis Biggs* (2016-2017)
Kepley, Broscious & Biggs, P.L.C.
2211 Pump Road
Richmond, VA 23233
(804) 741-0400
email: FLBiggs@kbbplc.com
Steven W. Blaine
WoodsRogers
123 East Main Street, 5th Floor
Charlottesville, Va. 22902
(434) 220-6831
email: Sblaine@woodsrogers.com
Tara R. Boyd
Boyd & Sipe, P.L.C.
126 Garrett Street, Suite A
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(804) 248-8713
email: tara@boydandsipe.com
Hayden Anne Breedlove
10901 Warren Road
Glen Allen, VA 23060
(804) 357-5687
Email: haydenanne.breedlove@richmond.edu
Connor J. Childress
Scott Kroner, P.L.C.
418 E. Water Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 296-2161
email: cchildress@scottkroner.com
Kay M. Creasman*† (2018-2019)
Vice President and Counsel
Old Republic National Title Insurance Company
P.O. Box 73052
N. Chesterfield, VA 23235
cell: (804) 475-1765
email: kcreasman@oldrepublictitle.com
Douglass W. Dewing*† (2005-2006)
P.O. Box 38037
Henrico, VA 23231
(804) 795-1209
email: dwdtelc@gmail.com
Michele R. Freemyers
Leggett, Simon, Freemyers & Lyon, P.L.C.
Counsel to: Ekko Title, L.C.
1931 Plank Road, Suite 208
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
(540) 899-1992
email: mfreemyers@ekkotitle.com
Barbara Wright Goshorn
Barbara Wright Goshorn, P.C.
203 Main Street
P.O. Box 177
Palmyra, VA 22963
(434) 589-2694
email: bgoshorn@goshornlaw.com
J. Philip Hart* (2012-2013)
Vice President & Investment Counsel
Legal Department
Genworth
6620 West Broad Street, Building #1
Richmond, VA 23230
(804) 922-5161
email: philip.hart@genworth.com
Randy C. Howard* (2008-2009)
11437 Barrington Bridge Court
Richmond, VA 23233
cell: (804) 337-1878
email: randychoward@msn.com
Timothy I. Kelsey
Wood Rogers, P.L.C.
P.O. Box 2496
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 220-6830
email: tkelsey@woodsrogers.com
Neil S. Kessler* (1990-1991)
Neil S. Kessler Law Office, P.L.L.C.
1501 Hearthglow Court
Richmond, VA 23238
(804) 307-8248
email: neilkessler1@gmail.com
Otto W. Konrad
Williams Mullen
200 South 10th Street, Suite 1600
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 420-6093
email: okonrad@williamsmullen.com
Michael P. Lafayette
Lafayette, Ayers & Whitlock, P.L.C.
10160 Staples Mill Road, Suite 105
Glen Allen, VA 23060
main: (804) 545-6250 direct: (804) 545-6253
email: MLafayette@lawplc.com
Larry J. McElwain*† (2004-2005)
Scott Kroner, P.L.C.
418 East Water Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902-2737
(434) 296-2161
email: lmcelwain@scottkroner.com
Hope V. Payne
Scott Kroner, P.L.C.
418 East Water Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902-2737
(434) 296-2161
email: hpayne@scottkroner.com
Collison F. Royer
Royer Caramanis & McDonough
200-C Garrett Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 260-8767
email: croyer@rcmplc.com
Susan H. Siegfried* (1999-2000)
5701 Sandstone Ridge Terrace
Midlothian, VA 23112
(804) 818-5940
email: shs5701@comcast.net
John W. Steele
Hirschler Fleischer
The Edgeworth Building
2100 East Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23223
or
P. O. Box 500
Richmond, VA 23218-0500
(804) 771-9565
email: jsteele@hf-law.com
Ronald D. Wiley, Jr.*
Underwriting Counsel
Old Republic Title
400 Locust Avenue, Suite 4
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(804) 281-7497
email: rwiley@oldrepublictitle.com
J. Page Williams
Flora Pettit P.C.
530 East Main Street
P.O. Box 2057
Charlottesville, VA 22902-2057
(434) 817-7973
email: jpw@fplegal.com
Stephen Bryce Wood
The Wood Law Firm, P.L.C.
6720 Patterson Ave. Suite D
Richmond, VA 23226
(804) 873-0088
Steve.wood@woodlawrva.com
Northern Region
Dianne Boyle
Senior Vice President and Commercial Counsel
Chicago Title Insurance Company | National
Commercial Services
Fidelity National Title Insurance Company
1901 Pennsylvania Avenue, Suite 201
Washington, D.C. 20006
direct: (202) 263-4745; cell: (703) 472-7674
email: boyled@ctt.com
Sandra (Sandy) Buchko
Asmar, Schor & McKenna
5335 Wisconsin Avenue, NW, Suite 400
Washington DC 20015
(202) 244-4264
email: SBuchko@asm-law.com
Todd E. Condron
Ekko Title
410 Pine Street, S.E., Suite 220
Vienna, VA 22180
(703) 537-0800
email: tcondron@ekkotitle.com
Henry Matson Coxe, IV
Henry Matson Coxe, IV
Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker LLP
8444 Westpark Drive, Suite 510
McLean, VA 22102-5102
(703) 852-7787
email: matson.coxe@wilsonelser.com

Diana Helen D’Alessandro

Diana Helen D’Alessandro
Pesner Altmiller Melnick & DeMers PLC
7926 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 930
Tysons Corner, VA 22102
As of 12/1/2020:
8000 Westpark Drive
Suite 600
Tysons, VA 22102
(703) 506-9440 ext. 245
email: ddalessandro@pesner.com

Lawrence A. Daughtrey
Kelly & Daughtrey
10605 Judicial Drive Suite A-3
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 273-1950
email: ldaught@aol.com

Pamela B. Fairchild

Pamela B. Fairchild
Attorney at Law
Fairchild Law, PLC
526 Kings Street, Suite 201 Alexandria, VA 22314
(571) 249-1300
email: pam@fairchild-law.com

David C. Hannah
Hirschler
8270 Greensboro Drive, Suite 700
Tysons, Virginia 22102
(703) 584-8900
email: DHannah@hirschlerlaw.com
Jack C. Hanssen
Moyes & Associates, P.L.L.C.
21 North King Street
Leesburg, VA 20176-2819
(703) 777-6800
email: jack@moyeslaw.com

George A. Hawkins

George A. Hawkins
Dunlap, Bennett & Ludwig
8300 Boone Boulevard, #550
Vienna, VA 22182
main: (703) 777-7319; direct: (571) 252-8521
email: ghawkins@dbllawyers.com

John H. Hawthorne
SVP, Legal/Associate General Counsel
Comstock Companies
1886 Metro Center Drive
Fourth Floor
Reston, VA 20190
(703) 230-1985
email: jhawthorne@comstockcompanies.com
Tracy Bryan Horstkamp (Mr.)
The Law Office of Tracy Bryan Horstkamp
1184 Hawling Place, SW
Leesburg, VA 20175
(703) 669-4935
email: tbh@horstkamplaw.com
Ralph E. Kipp
The Law Offices of Ralph E. Kipp, P.L.C.
10615 Judicial Drive, Suite 501
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 352-8080
email: rkipp@kipp-law.com

Benjamin D. Leigh

Benjamin D. Leigh
Atwill, Troxell & Leigh, P.C.
50 Catoctin Circle, N.E., Suite 303
Leesburg, VA 20176
(703) 777-4000
email: bleigh@atandlpc.com

Paul H. Melnick

Paul H. Melnick* (2011-2012)
Pesner Altmiller Melnick & DeMers PLC
8000 Westpark Drive, Suite 600
Tysons, VA 22102
(703) 506-9440
email: pmelnick@pesner.com

Andrew A. Painter
Walsh, Colucci, Lubeley & Walsh, P.C.
One East Market Street, Suite 300
Leesburg, VA 20176-3014
(703) 737-3633 ext. 5775
email: apainter@thelandlawyers.com

Susan M. Pesner

Susan M. Pesner*† (1996-1997)
Pesner Altmiller Melnick & DeMers PLC
8000 Westpark Drive, Suite 600
Tysons, VA 22102
(703) 506-9440
email: spesner@pesner.com

Sarah Louppe Petcher

Sarah Louppe Petcher
S & T Law Group P.L.L.C.
8116 Arlington Boulevard, Suite 249
Falls Church, VA 22042
email: sarah@SandTlawgroup.com

Michelle A. Rosati
Holland & Knight
1650 Tysons Boulevard, Suite 1700
Tysons, VA 22102
(703) 720-8079
email: michelle.rosati@hklaw.com
Jordan M. Samuel
Asmar, Schor & McKenna, P.L.L.C.
5335 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Suite 400
Washington, D.C. 20015
(202) 244-4264
email: jsamuel@asm-law.com
Lawrence M. Schonberger* (2001-2002)
Sevila, Saunders, Huddleston & White, PC
30 North King Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
(703) 777-5700
email: LSchonberger@sshw.com
Heather R. Steele
Pesner Altmiller Melnick & DeMers PLC
8000 Westpark Drive
Suite 600
Tysons, VA 22102
(703) 506-9440 ext. 224
email: hsteele@pesner.com
Theodora Stringham
Offit Kurman, P.A.
8000 Towers Crescent Drive, Suite 1500
Tysons Corner, VA 22182
(703) 745-1849
email: theodora.stringham@gmail.com
David W. Stroh
2204 Golf Course Drive
Reston, VA 20191
(703) 716-4573
email: davidwstroh@gmail.com
Lucia Anna Trigiani
MercerTrigiani
112 South Alfred Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
(703) 837-5000; direct: (703) 837-5008
email: Pia.Trigiani@MercerTrigiani.com
Benjamin C. Winn, Jr.
Benjamin C. Winn, Jr, Esquire P.L.C.
3701 Pender Drive, Suite 300
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 652-9719
email: bwinn@nvrinc.com
Eric V. Zimmerman
Rogan Miller Zimmerman, P.L.L.C.
50 Catoctin Circle, N.E., Suite 333
Leesburg, VA 20176
(703) 777-8850
email: ezimmerman@rmzlawfirm.com
 

Southside Region

Thomson Lipscomb

Thomson Lipscomb
Attorney at Law
89 Bank Street
P. O. Box 310
Boydton, VA 23917
(434) 738-0440
email: janersl@kerrlake.com

Tidewater Region

Robert C. Barclay, IV
Cooper, Spong & Davis, P.C.
P.O. Box 1475
Portsmouth, VA 23705
(757) 397-3481
email: rbarclay@portslaw.com

Michael E. Barney

Michael E. Barney* (1987-1988)
Kaufman & Canoles, P.C.
P.O. Box 626
Virginia Beach, VA 23451-0626
(757) 491-4040
email: mebarney@kaufcan.com

Jon W. Brodegard
Old Republic Title | Old Republic Insurance Group
7960 Donegan Drive | Suite 247 | Manassas, VA 20109
Tel: C: 757.577.2606
email: jbrodegard@oldrepublictitle.com
Richard B. Campbell
Richard B. Campbell, P.L.C.
129 N. Saratoga Street, Suite 3
Suffolk, VA 23434
(757) 809-5900
email: rcampbell@law757.com

Paula S. Caplinger

Paula S. Caplinger*† (2003-2004)
Vice President and Tidewater Agency Counsel
Chicago Title Insurance Company
Fidelity National Title Group
P.O. Box 6500
Newport News, VA 23606
(757) 508-8889
email: caplingerP@ctt.com

Vanessa S. Carter

Vanessa S. Carter
Glasser and Glasser, P.L.C. 580 E. Main St. Suite 600 Norfolk, Virginia 23510 (757) 640-9387
email: vcarter@glasserlaw.com

Brian O. Dolan

Brian O. Dolan
Brian Dolan Law Offices, P.L.L.C.
12610 Patrick Henry Drive, Suite C
Newport News, VA 23602
(757) 320-0257
email: brian.dolan@briandolanlaw.com

Alyssa C. Embree

Alyssa C. Embree
Williams Mullen
999 Waterside Drive, Suite 1700
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 629-0631
email: aembree@williamsmullen.com

Pamela J. Faber
BridgeTrust Title Group
One Columbus Center, Suite 400
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
office: (757) 605-2015
cell: (757) 469-6990
email: pfaber@bridgetrusttitle.com

Howard E. Gordon

Howard E. Gordon*† (1982-1983)
Williams Mullen
999 Waterside Drive,Suite 1700
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 629-0607
email: hgordon@williamsmullen.com

Ann A. Gourdine
115 High Street
Portsmouth, VA 23704
(757) 397-6000
email: aagourdine@gmail.com
Joshua M. Johnson
Managing Attorney
Property Law Group, P.L.L.C.
(757) 206-2945
email: jmjohnson@propertylawgrouppllc.com
Naveed Kalantar
Garriott Maurer, PLLC
5041 Corporate Woods Dr Ste G180
Virginia Beach, VA  23462
(757) 530-9595
email: naveedkalantar@gmail.com

 

Ray W. King
Vandeventer Black LLP
101 W. Main Street
500 World Trade Center
Norfolk, VA 23510
direct: (757) 446-8527
email: ray.king@vanblacklaw.com

Charles (Chip) E. Land

Charles (Chip) E. Land* (1997-1998)
Kaufman & Canoles, P.C.
150 W. Main Street, Suite 2100
P.O. Box 3037
Norfolk, VA 23510-1665
(757) 624-3131
email: celand@kaufcan.com

Charles M. Lollar

Charles M. Lollar* (1992-1993)
Lollar Law, P.L.L.C.
P. O. Box 11274
Norfolk, VA 23517
office: (757) 644-4657; cell: (757) 735-0777
email: Chuck@Lollarlaw.com

Christy L. Murphy

Christy L. Murphy
Bischoff & Martingayle
Monticello Arcade
208 East Plume Street, Suite 247
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 965-2793
email: clmurphy@bischoffmartingayle.com

Cynthia A. Nahorney
Fidelity National Title Insurance Corporation
Commonwealth Land Title Insurance Company
150 West Main Street, Suite 1615
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 216-0491
email: cynthia.nahorney@fnf.com

William L. Nusbaum

William L. Nusbaum* (2013-2014)
Williams Mullen
1700 Dominion Tower
999 Waterside Drive
Norfolk, VA 23510-3303
(757) 629-0612
email: wnusbaum@williamsmullen.com

Harry R. Purkey, Jr.
Harry R. Purkey, Jr., P.C.
303 34th Street, Suite 5
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
(757) 428-6443
email: hpurkey@hrpjrpc.com

Cartwright R. “Cart” Reilly

Cartwright R. “Cart” Reilly
Williams Mullen
222 Central Park Avenue, Suite 1700
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
(757) 473-5312
email: creilly@williamsmullen.com

Stephen R. Romine* (2002-2003)
Williams Mullen
222 Central Park Avenue, Suite 1700
Virginia Beach, VA 23462-3035
(757) 473-5301
email: sromine@williamsmullen.com
William W. Sleeth, III
Gordon & Rees, LLP
5425 Discovery Park Boulevard, Suite 200
Williamsburg, VA 23188
(757) 903-0869
email: wsleeth@grsm.com
Allen C. Tanner, Jr.
701 Town Center Drive, Suite 800
Newport News, VA 23606
(757) 595-9000
email: atanner@jbwk.com
Susan B. Tarley
Tarley Robinson, P.L.C.
4808 Courthouse Street, Suite 102
Williamsburg, VA 23188
(757) 229-4281
email: starley@tarleyrobinson.com
Benjamin P. Titter
Richmond Redevelopment and Housing
Authority
901 Chamberlayne Parkway
Richmond, VA 23220
(804) 489-7256
email: ben.titter@rrha.com
Andrae J. Via
Senior Corporate Counsel
Ferguson Enterprises, Inc.
12500 Jefferson Avenue
Newport News, VA 23602
(757) 969-4170
email: andrae.via@ferguson.com

Susan S. Walker

Susan S. Walker* (2015-2016)
Jones, Walker & Lake
128 S. Lynnhaven Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23452
(757) 486-0333
email: swalker@jwlpc.com

Edward R. Waugaman

Edward R. Waugaman
1114 Patrick Lane
Newport News, VA 23608
(757) 897-6581
email: eddieray7@verizon.net

Mark D. Williamson
McGuireWoods, L.L.P.
World Trade Center, Suite 9000
101 W. Main Street
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 640-3713
email: mwilliamson@mcguirewoods.com

Valley Region

K. Wayne Glass
Poindexter Hill, P.C.
P.O. Box 353
Staunton, VA 24402-0353
(540) 943-1118
email: kwg24402@gmail.com

James L. Johnson

James L. Johnson
Wharton Aldhizer & Weaver, P.L.C.
100 South Mason Street
P.O. Box 20028
Harrisonburg, VA 22801
(540) 434-0316
email: jjohnson@wawlaw.com

Mark N. Reed
President/CEO
Pioneer Bank
P.O. Box 10
Stanley, VA 22851
(540) 778-6301
email: mnreed@pioneerbks.com

 

Western Region
David C. Helscher*† (1986-1987)
OPN Law
3140 Chaparral Drive, Suite 200 C
Roanoke, VA 24018
(540) 725-8182
email: dhelscher@opnlaw.com
Jean D. Mumm* (2007-2008)
Gentry Locke
10 Franklin Road SE, Suite 900
Roanoke, VA 24011
Tel: 540-983-9323; cell: 540-529-2973
Email: Mumm@gentrylocke.com
Maxwell H. Wiegard
Gentry Locke
SunTrust Plaza
10 Franklin Road, S.E., Suite 900
Roanoke, VA 24011
(540) 983-9350
email: mwiegard@gentrylocke.com

C. Cooper Youell, IV

C. Cooper Youell, IV* (2014-2015)
Whitlow & Youell, P.L.C.
28A West Kirk Avenue
Roanoke, VA 24011
(540) 904-7836
email: cyouell@whitlowyouell.com

Honorary Area Representatives (Inactive)

Joseph M. Cochran* (2009-2010)
177 Oak Hill Circle
Sewanee, TN 37375

Robert E. Hawthorne

Robert E. Hawthorne* (1993-1994)
Hawthorne & Hawthorne
P.O. Box 603
Kenbridge, VA 23944
Kenbridge Office: (434) 676-3275
Victoria Office: (434) 696-2139
email: rehawthorne@hawthorne-hawthorne.com

Edward B. Kidd* (1988-1989)
Troutman Sanders Building
1001 Haxall Point
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 697-1445
email: ed.kidd@troutmansanders.com
James B. (J.B.) Lonergan* (1995-1996)
Pender & Coward, P.C.
222 Central Park Avenue
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
(757) 490-6281
email: jlonerga@pendercoward.com
Michael M. Mannix* (1994-1995)
Holland & Knight, L.L.P.
Suite 700
1600 Tysons Boulevard
McLean, VA 22102
(703) 720-8024
email: michael.mannix@hklaw.com
R. Hunter Manson*
R. Hunter Manson, P.L.C.
P.O. Box 539
Reedville, VA 22539
(804) 453-5600
G. Michael Pace, Jr. * (1991-1992)
General Counsel
Roanoke College
Office of the President
221 College Lane
Salem, VA 24153
(540) 375-2047
email: gpace@roanoke.edu
Joseph W. Richmond, Jr.*† (1985-1986)
McCallum & Kudravetz, P.C.
250 East High Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
main: (434) 293-8191; direct: (434) 220-5999
email: jwr@mkpc.com
Michael K. Smeltzer* (1998-1999)
Woods, Rogers & Hazlegrove, L.C.
P.O. Box 14125
Roanoke, VA 24038
(540) 983-7652
email: smeltzer@woodsrogers.com
 

[Note: As used herein, a Nathan1 (*) denotes a past Chair of the Section, and a dagger (†) denotes a past recipient of the Courtland Traver Scholar Award.]

Updated: 1/26/2021