Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

General Practice

A Section of the Virginia State Bar.

Tradition of Excellence Award, 2008 Recipient

Roger C. Wiley Jr.

Roger C. Wiley Jr., who has worked for Virginia and local governments during most of his thirty-eight year career, was named the 2008 recipient of the Tradition of Excellence Award by the Virginia State Bar’s General Practice Section.

The award recognizes a lawyer who embodies the highest tradition of personal and professional excellence and who has benefitted a community and enhanced the esteem of general practice attorneys in Virginia. It was presented by the section on June 21, 2008, at the Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting in Virginia Beach.

Wiley now practices with Hefty & Wiley PC in Richmond, where he represents local government clients and handles state constitutional and legislative issues.

He twice has worked for the Virginia Attorney General’s Office – first as an assistant counsel to the Virginia Department of Highways and Transportation, and more recently as a senior assistant serving as chief of opinions and the local government section.

Raised in Pittsylvania County, Wiley received his bachelor’s and law degrees from the University of Virginia.
He started his law career at the Virginia Division of Legislative Services, served for almost 14 years as city attorney for Charlottesville, and practiced for three years with Paxson, Smith, Gilliam and Scott in Charlottesville, where he focused on land use and other local government-related matters.

He was nominated for the award by Jan. L. Proctor, president of Local Government Attorneys of Virginia Inc., which Wiley served as a founding member and past president. He also is a past member of the Board of Governors of the VSB Local Government Section.

Proctor wrote that, with Wiley’s broad experience working for governments, “Roger has very much been engaged in the general practice of law in every sense of that phrase.”


Tradition of Excellence Award, 2007 Recipient