Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

General Practice

A Section of the Virginia State Bar.

Section News and Information

May 26, 2017

Penny Baber is Recipient of Tradition of Excellence Award

James P. “Penny” Baber, who opened his general practice in Cumberland County in 1961, has been named the 2017 recipient of the Tradition of Excellence Award by the Virginia State Bar’s General Practice Section.

The award recognizes a lawyer who embodies the highest tradition of personal and professional excellence and who has benefitted the community and enhanced the esteem of general practice attorneys in Virginia. It will be presented on June 17 during the VSB Annual Meeting at Virginia Beach.

Vivian Seay Giles, the Cumberland County attorney and county administrator, wrote in nominating him for the award that: “Mr. Baber stands as a monument in our community of the true southern gentleman lawyer who has served his community and the Virginia State Bar as a sole practitioner for fifty-six years.”

Baber has served as the commonwealth’s attorney and the Cumberland County attorney, and is currently the commissioner of accounts. He is also active in his community, where he has been a member of the Ruritan Club, served as a Boy Scout troop leader and on the board of directors of the Deep Run Hunt Club, and serves as a trustee of the St. James Episcopal Church in Cartersville.

“I am nominating Mr. Penny Baber for the Tradition of Excellence award, not because of any single monumental achievement or specific success of which I am aware, but for his fifty-six years of service, excellence and professionalism in the practice of law in Central Virginia,” Giles wrote. “Mr. Baber has served, and continues to serve, as an example of the highest professional ethics and legal skill for those of us fortunate enough to practice with him.”

Baber graduated from the University of Richmond in 1958. He received his law degree from the University of Virginia in 1961.

Updated: May 08, 2017