Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

Criminal Law

A Section of the Virginia State Bar.

Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Award

Nomination form (PDF)

The Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Award was established in 1991 by the Section on Criminal Law of the Virginia State Bar to recognize an individual (judge, defense attorney, prosecutor, clerk or other citizen) who has made a singular and unique contribution to the improvement of the criminal justice system in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

The award is made in memory of the late Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia, Harry L. Carrico, who exemplifies the highest ideals and aspirations of professionalism.  Chief Justice Carrico was the first recipient of the award which was instituted at the 22nd Annual Criminal Law Seminar in February 1992.

Although the award will only be made from time to time at the discretion of the Board of Governors of the Criminal Law Section, the Board will invite nominations annually.  Nominations will be reviewed by a selection committee consisting of former chairs of the section.

Submission of Nomination

Please submit your nomination on the nomination form, describing specifically the manner in which your nominee meets the criteria established for the award.  If you prefer, nominations may be made by letter.

Nominations should be addressed to Jacqueline M. Reiner, Chair, Criminal Law Section, and mailed to the Virginia State Bar Office:  1111 East Main Street, Suite 700 Richmond, VA 23219-0026.  Please be sure to include your name and the full name, address, and phone number of the nominee.

If you have questions about the nomination process, please contact Maureen Stengel, Virginia State Bar:; (804) 775-0517.

Prior recipients

Hon. Robert E. Payne 2023
Hon. Donald W. Lemons 2022
The Honorable Junius P. Fulton III 2020
The Honorable M. Hannah Lauck 2019
The Honorable Martin F. Clark, Jr. 2018
Philip J. Hirschkop 2017
Michael N. Herring 2016
The Honorable Jerrauld C. Jones 2015
Gerald T. Zerkin 2014
Claire G. Cardwell 2013
Melinda Douglas 2012
The Honorable Jere M.H. Willis, Jr.
Prof. Ronald J. Bacigal
Rodney G. Leffler
The Honorable Paul B. Ebert
Overton P. Pollard
Richard Brydges
Prof. Robert E. Shepherd Jr.
Craig S. Cooley
The Honorable Donald H. Kent
The Honorable Paul F. Sheridan
Dennis W. Dohnal, Esquire
The Honorable Richard H. Poff
Reno S. Harp III, Esquire
The Honorable Robert F. Horan
Oliver W. Hill Sr., Esquire
James C. Roberts, Esquire
The Honorable Harry L. Carrico