Virginia Lawyer Magazine - October 2018

VOL. 67/NO. 3

cover art

About the cover

View an interactive version that is compatible with desktop computers and mobile devices

Download complete magazine

Interactive Magazine


Litigation Section

The Litigation Issue
by Nathan J.D. Veldhuis, Litigation Section chair

Avoiding Waiver When Facing an Unanticipated Ruling: Cherry v. Lawson Realty Corp.
by Erin B. Ashwell

Spoliation under Fed. R. Civ. P. 37(e): What a Party Must Prove to Obtain Sanctions for Failure to Preserve ESI
by Kristan B. Burch

Bradner, Bowers, and the Adequacy of Jury Verdicts in Personal Injury Cases
by the Honorable Joseph A. Migliozzi Jr. and Alexander R. McDaniel

Bites, Nips and Stings – Animal Encounters, “Arising Out Of,” and Workers’ Compensation
by Wesley G. Marshall

Appellate Mediation Comes to Virginia
by Monica T. Monday


A Tale of Two Litigators

Emily Munn: “Everyone in This World Deserves to Have a Voice”
by Deirdre Norman

David and the Giant Verdict
by Deirdre Norman


Virginia Lawyer Register

Disciplinary Summaries
Disciplinary Proceedings
VSB Council Seeks Comments on Proposed Changes to Judicial Candidate Evaluation Committee Procedures and Policies
Supreme Court of Virginia Committee Releases Report on Lawyer Well-being
Legal Advertising Opinions Withdrawn
Supreme Court of Virginia Amends Rule 1A:1
Supreme Court of Virginia Seeks Comments on Rule Changes
Chief Justice Issues Statement on New Criminal Discovery Rules
Supreme Court of Virginia Amends Rules 1:1, 1:11, and 3:20
Lemons Re-elected Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia
New Clerk of the Court Appointed
Join the Disciplinary System
Steven Frank Helm Petition for Reinstatement

Access to Legal Services

Andrew Nea is the 2018 Lewis F. Powell Jr. Pro Bono Award Recipient
Prince William County Bar Association Receives Frankie Muse Freeman Pro Bono Award
2018 Pro Bono Conference
Virginia Free Legal Answers’ 2nd Anniversary



Join the Disciplinary System – Applications Sought for District Committee Vacancies
NOTICE: Check Your MCLE Hours Online Now
In Memoriam
VLF Announces 2018 Grant Recipients
Conference of Local and Specialty Bar Associations
Carrico Professionalism Award Nomination
Rakes Leadership in Education Award Nomination


President’s Message
Executive Director’s Message
Ethics Counsel's Message
Legal Aid
Law Libraries
Technology and the Practice of Law


CLE Calendar
Professional Notices
Classified Ads
Advertiser’s Index

About the Cover

The Board of Governors of the 3,200 member VSB Litigation Section: Left to right: Kevin Gerrity, Judge Jeffrey Parker, Monica Monday, Carter Younger, Nathan Veldhuis (chair), Brian Schneider, Missy York, Judge Gregory Ashwell, Professor Jennifer Franklin, and Bob Byrne. Not pictured: Matthew Haynes, Brad Stallard, James Martin, Michael Finney, Judge Thomas Horne, Kyle McNew, Jane Reynolds, Simon Sandoval-Moshenberg, Brian Wheeler, and Karen Gould. Photo by Deirdre Norman; Post production by Sky Noir Photography.