News and Information
June 22, 2022

General Assembly Elects Two New Justices to Supreme Court

The Virginia General Assembly has elected two new justices to 12-year terms on the Supreme Court of Virginia. The Hon. Thomas P. Mann of Fairfax Circuit Court begins his term on August 1. The Hon. Wesley G. Russell Jr. of the Virginia Court of Appeals begins his term on July 1. The new justices fill the openings created by the retirement of Justice William C. Mims, and former Chief Justice Donald W. Lemons, who has taken senior status.

The General Assembly selected the Hon. Kimberley Slayton White, presiding Circuit Court judge for the 10th Judicial District, to fill the opening on the Virginia Court of Appeals created by Justice Russell’s elevation to the Commonwealth’s highest court.

Justice Mann joined the Fairfax Court in 2016 after first serving as a judge for the 19th Judicial District's Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court. He graduated from New York University and received his law degree from American University College of Law. He served on the faculty of the Bar’s Professionalism Course.

Justice Russell was a deputy attorney general for the Commonwealth and a partner at the law firm of McSweeney, Crump, Childress & Temple PC before joining the Virginia Court of Appeals in 2015. He attended the University of Virginia before receiving his law degree from George Mason University School of Law. He serves on the Board of Governors of the Bar’s Section on the Education of Lawyers.

Photo captions:
(top) Justice Thomas P. Mann (left) and Justice Wesley G. Russell Jr. (right)
The Hon. Kimberley Slayton White

Updated: Jun 22, 2022