News and Information
December 20, 2018

‘Tis the Season for Honoring Your Colleagues

This holiday season, as you reflect on 2018, consider members of the legal community as candidates for a number of honors that the VSB, its sections, and its conferences award.

The lawyer you nominate needn’t be in the section or conference giving the award.

Except for Family Law’s, all awards are presented at VSB’s 81st Annual Meeting in June.

The Family Law Section is seeking nominations for two awards, presented at the Annual Family Law Seminar in April at The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond: 

  • The Betty A. Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes and honors an individual who has made a substantial contribution to the practice and administration of family law in Virginia.
  • And the Family Law Service Award is given to an individual or organization who has consistently given freely of time, talent, and energies to provide valuable services in advancing family, domestic relations, or juvenile law in Virginia.
    Deadline to nominate: Jan. 18

The Pro Bono / Access to Legal Services Committee seeks to honor the legal services community with two awards:

  • The Virginia Legal Aid Award honors innovation, creativity, and excellence in a lawyer that works for a Virginia legal aid society. 
  • The Oliver White Hill Law Student Pro Bono Award honors extraordinary law student achievement in the areas of pro bono and under-compensated public service work in Virginia.
    Deadline to nominate: March 29

The Young Lawyers Conference is soliciting nominations for the R. Edwin Burnette Jr. Young Lawyer of the Year Award, which honors an outstanding young Virginia lawyer who has demonstrated dedicated service to the Young Lawyers Conference, the legal profession, and the community. Deadline to nominate: April 1

The General Practice Section’s Tradition of Excellence award, honoring general practitioners who embody the highest tradition of personal and professional excellence in Virginia, is open for nominations. Deadline to nominate: April 8

The Conference of Local and Specialty Bars seeks nominees for four awards:

Doris Henderson Causey and Alan McGraw present Jay Myerson (center) with the Local Bar Leader of the Year Award at the 2018 Annual Meeting.

Updated: Dec 20, 2018