News and Information
April 30, 2019

Bar Welcomes New Council Members

Twenty-two Virginia lawyers will begin three-year terms on the Virginia State Bar Council on July 1, 2019. This year marked the highest voter turnout since the VSB began electronic balloting.

Results of contested council elections:

1st Circuit – Chesapeake (1 vacancy)
Damian J. (D.J.) Hansen – 1st term

13th Circuit – Richmond (2 vacancies)
Eric M. Page – 1st term 
Cullen D. Seltzer – 1st term

17th Circuit – Arlington (3 vacancies)
Adam D. Elfenbein – 2nd term
Greg T. Hunter – 2nd term
Josh D. Katcher – 1st term

20th Circuit – Loudoun, Fauquier, Rappahannock (1 vacancy)
R. Penn Bain – 1st term

As previously announced, the following lawyers will represent circuits where there were no contested elections: 

Circuit 2: Jeffrey B. Sodoma of Virginia Beach – 1st term
Circuit 3: Meredith B. Travers of Portsmouth – 1st term
Circuit 4: Ann B. Brogan of Norfolk – 2nd term
Circuit 5: Thomas G. Shaia of Suffolk – 1st term
Circuit 16: Palma E. Pustilnik of Charlottesville – 2nd term
Circuit 19: David J. Gogal of Fairfax – 2nd term                                     
Circuit 19: Doug R. Kay of Tysons Corner – 2nd term
Circuit 22: Eric H. Ferguson of Rocky Mount – 1st term
Circuit 23: K. Brett Marston of Roanoke – 2nd term
Circuit 26: Nancy M. Reed of Luray – 2nd term
Circuit 27: R. Cord Hall of Christiansburg – 2nd term
Circuit 31: Maryse C. Allen of Prince William – 2nd term

Bar Council members beginning their term in July in circuits that held an election-by-meeting were:

Circuit 6: J. Daniel Vinson of Emporia – 1st term
Circuit 24: Eugene N. Butler of Lynchburg – 1st term
Circuit 29: D. Greg Baker of Clintwood – 1st term

Updated: Apr 30, 2019