News and Information
May 18, 2010

New Council Members Announced

The following members have been newly elected, reelected, or Court-appointed to terms on the Virginia State Bar Council:

Circuit Representatives

Reelected at meetings:

William H. Riddick III of Smithfield, 5th Circuit

Mark B. Holland of Danville, 22nd Circuit

C. Eugene Compton of Lebanon, 29th Circuit

Newly elected at meetings:

Peter D. Eliades of Hopewell, who succeeds Steven B. Novey in the 6th Circuit

Theodore J. Craddock of Lynchburg, who succeeds Aubrey J. Rosser Jr. in the 24th Circuit


Reelected without opposition in mail-ballot circuits:

Kevin E. Martingayle of Virginia Beach, 2nd Circuit

George M. Willson of Portsmouth, 3rd Circuit

Brian L. Buniva of Richmond, 13th Circuit

Ronald R. Tweel of Charlottesville, 16th Circuit

Sharon D. Nelson of Fairfax, 19th Circuit

Edward L. Weiner of Fairfax, 19th Circuit

Peter C. Burnett of Leesburg, 20th Circuit


Newly elected without opposition in mail-ballot circuits:

David W. Lannetti of Norfolk, who succeeds John Y. Richardson Jr. in the 4th Circuit

Sean P. Kelly of McLean, who succeeds Leslie W. Hoffman in the 19th Circuit

Mark K. Cathey of Roanoke, who succeeds Christopher W. Stephens in the 23rd Circuit

Richard L. Chidester of Pearisburg, who succeeds Michael J. Barbour in the 27th Circuit


Results of contested mail-ballot elections (winners in bold):


17th Circuit

Mark D. Cummings, Arlington


(three seats)

Gregory T. Hunter, Arlington



Raymond B. Benzinger, Arlington



Timothy B. Beason, Arlington





31st Circuit

Gifford R. Hampshire, Manassas


(one seat)

Mary Grace A. O’Malley



At-Large Members

The Supreme Court of Virginia appointed two members to at-large seats:

Michael HuYoung of Richmond

W. Revell Lewis III of Accomac

They succeed J. Nicholas Klein III and Judith L. Rosenblatt.

The Court reappointed Margaret A. Nelson of Lynchburg to a second term.


Conference Representatives

Nancy M. Reed of Luray — Conference of Local Bar Associations

Carson H. Sullivan of Washington, D.C. — Young Lawyers Conference

John H. Tate Jr. of Marion — Senior Lawyers Conference



At the VSB Annual Meeting in June, the following will take office:

Irving M. Blank of Richmond — president

George W. Shanks of Luray, who ran unopposed — president-elect

Jon D. Huddleston of Leesburg — immediate past president


Circuit and at-large members serve three-year terms. Conference representatives and officers serve one year.

Updated: May 18, 2010