News and Information
October 03, 2019

Jay B. Myerson Will Be VSB President for 2021-22

Jay B. Myerson of Reston is the Virginia State Bar president-elect designee for 2021-22. Myerson was unopposed in his bid for the presidency. Myerson will succeed current president-elect Brian L. Buniva of Richmond when Buniva takes over the role of VSB president from current President Marni E. Byrum in June 2020.

Myerson founded The Myerson Law Group, P.C. and supervises a domestic, criminal, and civil litigation practice.

Myerson was first elected to Bar Council in 2014, representing the 19th Judicial Circuit. He currently is a member of the VSB's Standing Committees on Budget and Finance, the Legal Ethics committee, and previously served on the Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Course faculty. 

Myerson is a past president of the Fairfax Bar Association, and until recently, led its effort to obtain judicial funding for authorized, but unfunded, judges throughout the Commonwealth. He served in the ABA's House of Delegates and is a past president of the George Mason American Inn of Court. In June 2018, he received The Virginia State Bar Conference of Local and Specialty Bar Associations Local Bar Leader of the Year Award in recognition of dedicated service, professionalism and inspiration to the bench, the Fairfax Bar Association and the community.

When asked what he hopes to accomplish during his tenure, Myerson responded, “I am looking forward to this opportunity to build upon the good works initiated by former presidents that cannot be completed in a year or two but require sustained commitment over time.  Adhering to the primary mission of the Virginia State Bar to regulate the profession and protect the public, these would include advancing efforts to enhance access to legal services and to focus on the health of the profession.”

A graduate of Georgetown University and Georgetown Law School, Myerson is a Fellow of the Virginia Law Foundation and a Fairfax Law Foundation director. Updated: Oct 03, 2019