News and Information
July 02, 2010

Virginia State Bar E-News July 1, 2010

2010 Annual Meeting and Council Highlights – Richmond attorney Irving M. Blank was sworn in as the 72nd VSB president on June 18 at the Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting. George W. Shanks of Luray assumed the post of president-elect.

Dues Deadline, July 31, 2010 – Annual Membership Dues, Clients' Protection Fund (CPF) fee (if applicable) and Certification Regarding Professional Liability Insurance (PL) (if applicable) must be physically received (postmark will NOT be considered) in the Virginia State Bar office, and are past due, if not received by this date. There are three (3) separate membership requirements (annual dues, CPF fee and PL certification) associated with annual dues compliance. Each requirement not met will be assessed its own $50 delinquency fee.
  • Beginning in the 2010-11 fiscal year, VSB members  with active, active/Virginia corporate counsel, associate, military legal  assistance attorney, and emeritus status will receive permanent bar cards.
  • Enclosed in your dues statement is a request for voluntary contributions to Legal Services Corporation of Virginia. Please take a moment to read the appeal from past-president Jon Huddleston and consider a donation. If your firm takes care of your dues payment for you,  please ask the person responsible for opening and handling your dues form mailing to forward the legal aid donation letter to you personally.

Court Seeks Comment on Proposed Rule Changes – The Judicial Council’s Advisory Committee on Rules of Court seeks public comment on proposals to amend Rules 1:8, 3:16, and 3:2 through August 20, 2010.

Check Your MCLE Hours Online Now – Your MCLE compliance deadline is October 31, 2010.

VSB Council Election Result – W. Andrew Harding of Harrisonburg has been elected to represent the Twenty-sixth Judicial Circuit on the Virginia State Bar Council. The seat previously was held by George W. Shanks, who now is VSB president-elect.


Updated: Jul 02, 2010