News and Information
May 21, 2013

Council Members Announced

The following persons have been newly elected, reelected, or Court-appointed to three-year terms on the Virginia State Bar Council. The terms begin July 1, 2013.

Circuit Representatives

    Newly elected:

Daniel M. Schieble of Virginia Beach, 2nd Circuit
Nicholas D. Renninger of Portsmouth, 3rd Circuit
Carl Phillips “Phil” Ferguson of Suffolk, 5th Circuit
Special election, Ballots due 6/3/13, 11th Circuit
Christy E. Kiely of Richmond, 13th Circuit
Alex R. Gulotta of Charlottesville, 16th Circuit
John H. Crouch and Harry A. Dennis III, both of Arlington, 17th Circuit
James A. Watson II of Fairfax, 19th Circuit
Christine Mougin-Boal of Leesburg, 20th Circuit
Lee H. Turpin of Chatham, 22nd Circuit
David B. Neumeyer of Lynchburg, 24th Circuit
Joseph M. Bowen of Tazewell, 29th Circuit


David W. Lannetti of Norfolk, 4th Circuit
Peter D. Eliades of Prince George, 6th Circuit
Raymond B. Benzinger of Arlington, 17th Circuit
Sean P. Kelly of Fairfax, 19th Circuit
Mark K. Cathey of Roanoke, 23rd Circuit
W. Andrew Harding of Harrisonburg, 26th Circuit
Richard L. Chidester of Pearisburg, 27th Circuit
Gifford R. Hampshire of Manassas, 31st Circuit

    Newly appointed council members at-large:

Nancy C. Dickenson, Abingdon

    Reappointed council members at-large:

Michael HuYoung, Richmond
Beverly P. Leatherbury, Eastville


The following persons will serve one-year terms on the council:

Conference representatives:

Eugene M. Elliott, Jr. of Roanoke — chair, Conference of Local Bar Associations
Rupen R. Shah of Staunton — chair, Diversity Conference
John M. Oakey, Jr. of Richmond — chair, Senior Lawyers Conference
Kenneth L. Alger II of Luray — president, Young Lawyers Conference


    Sharon D. Nelson — president
    Kevin E. Martingayle — president-elect
    W. David Harless of Richmond — immediate past president

Updated: May 22, 2013