News and Information
May 14, 2021

Carrico Outstanding Career Service Recipients Named for 2019 and 2020

The Judicial Council of Virginia has named the Hon. William TNewman Jr., Chief Judge of the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit, as the recipient of the 2019 Harry L. Carrico Outstanding Career Service Award, and the Honorable Everett  A. Martin Jr., Judge of  the  Fourth Judicial Circuit, as the recipient of the Award for 2020. The 2019 award was not presented until now due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Named for the longest serving chief justice and the longest serving member in the history of the Supreme Court of Virginia, the Carrico award is presented annually by the Judicial Council to recognize a Virginia judge "...who, over an extended career, has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the administration of the courts while exhibiting the traits of integrity, courtesy, impartiality, wisdom, and humility."

The full press release may be found here.

Updated: May 14, 2021