News and Information
April 29, 2022

Bar Council Welcomes 22 New Leaders

The Virginia State Bar Council has 22 new members whose terms will begin July 1, 2022. A special election is currently underway in the 18th Circuit to fill a vacant seat. The results of that election will be posted when calculated. Additionally, effective July 1, 2022, the VSB will have a new president, president-elect, and immediate past president. The new leadership is as follows:

Judicial Circuit and Name

2nd  Naveed Kalantar
3rd   Matthew R. Foster
4th   Charlene A. Morring
5th   Thomas G. Shaia
6th   Derek A. Davis
13th Cullen D. Seltzer
13th Samuel T. Towell
16th Ann Marie Park
17th Carole H. Capsalis
17th G. (“Rex”) Flynn, Jr.
17th David E. Sher
19th Gary V. Davis
19th Tamika D. Jones
19th Robert B. Walker
20th Ridley P. (“Penn”) Bain
22nd Wells H. (“Hunter”) Byrnes
23rd Kevin W. Holt
24th Eugene N. Butler
26th Peter K. McDermott II
27th Westley G. (“Grant”) Back
29th Bradley D. Fleming
31st Anna B. Bristle

SPECIAL ELECTION CANDIDATES (Pending - Special Election)

Judicial Circuit 18th:
Nicholas J. Gehrig
Alison R. Mullins
Sebastian M. Norton

President: Stephanie E. Grana
President-Elect: Chidi I. James
Immediate Past President: Jay B. Myerson

Updated: May 11, 2022