News and Information
April 30, 2021

Winners Announced in Bar Council Elections

Circuits 18, 23, and 28 went to the virtual polls and elected their representatives to Virginia State Bar Council with voting ending on April 29 at midnight. 

Todd A. Pilot was elected to his first term and John K. Zwerling was elected to his second term to represent Circuit 18, which is based in Alexandria. Daniel P. Frankl won the election for Circuit 23, located in Roanoke. And Bruce H. Russell II will be a representative for Circuit 28, which includes the Abingdon region.

Council consists of 81 people: 65 lawyers elected from the 31 circuits throughout the Commonwealth, as well as nine at-large members appointed by the Supreme Court of Virginia, four conference chairs, and three officers.

Each elected representative will serve a three-year term, with the option to run again for a second term.

Conference chair council members:

CLSBA Chair – Roy V. Creasy of Roanoke      

Diversity Conference Chair – David D. Masterman of McLean

Senior Lawyers Conference Chair – Peter C. Burnett of Leesburg

Young Lawyers Conference President – Kristopher R. McClellan of Norfolk

Council members from uncontested elections:

Circuit 4 – Corrynn J. Peters of Norfolk 

Circuit 8 – Veronica E. Meade of Hampton 

Circuit 12 – P. George Eliades II of Chester 

Circuit 13 –     Timothy R. Baskerville of Richmond

                        Mark D. Dix of Richmond

                        Susheela Varky of Richmond 

                        Henry I. Willett III of Richmond 

Circuit 14 –     Thomas A. Edmonds of Henrico 

Circuit 16 –     Richard H. Howard-Smith of Charlottesville

Circuit 17 –    Jennifer S. Golden of Arlington 

                       Adam M. Krischer of Arlington

Circuit 19 –    Kathryn N. Dickerson of Vienna 

                       Stephen K. Gallagher of Tysons Corner

                       Carly J. Hart of Fairfax 

                        Nathan J. Olson of Fairfax 

                        Debra L. Powers of Fairfax

                        Michael M. York of Reston

Circuit 21 –     G. Andrew Hall of Martinsville

Circuit 30 –     D. Susie Baker of Wise 

Reappointed at-large members:

Lenard T. Myers of Norfolk

Joanna L. Suyes of Richmond

Nicole E. Upshur of Virginia Beach

Caption: (l to r)
Top row: Todd Pilot and John Zwerling.
Bottom row: Daniel Frankl and Bruce Russell II.



* edited 5/20/21 to add Lenard T. Myers as a reappointed at large member

Updated: May 20, 2021