News and Information
April 02, 2019

Candidates for 2019 Bar Council Elections, New Members in Uncontested Circuits Announced

Voting for the Virginia State Bar Council elections in four circuits is open beginning Monday, April 8.

Learn about the candidates in contested elections:

On April 8, active and in good standing lawyers whose address of record is in these four circuits should receive an email from “Virginia State Bar Election Coordinator” with a link to their ballot. The subject line will be “Virginia State Bar Call to Action.” To ensure the email with voting information arrives safely in your inbox, please add the following email address as a safe sender: These settings can be made in your email account SPAM/Junk filters or by contacting your IT department. This process is often referred to as “whitelisting.”

If you have not received your login information by April 10, please visit this website to have your voting instructions resent. You can also contact or call (952) 974-2339. If you have any other problems, please contact the Virginia State Bar at (804) 775-0551 or

Voting is open until Friday, April 26, at 11:59 p.m. EDT. The process takes only a few seconds if you have already made up your mind. Your voting instructions can only be sent to your email of record on file with the Virginia State Bar.

The new members of Bar Council in uncontested circuits are as follows.
Circuit 2: Jeffrey B. Sodoma of Virginia Beach – first term
Circuit 3: Meredith B. Travers of Portsmouth – first term
Circuit 4: Ann B. Brogan of Norfolk – re-elected to second term
Circuit 5: Thomas G. Shaia of Suffolk – first term
Circuit 16: Palma E. Pustilnik of Charlottesville – re-elected to second term
Circuit 19: David J. Gogal of Fairfax – re-elected to second term                                     
Circuit 19: Doug R. Kay of Tysons Corner – re-elected to second term
Circuit 22: Eric H. Ferguson of Rocky Mount – first term
Circuit 23: K. Brett Marston of Roanoke – re-elected to second term
Circuit 26: Nancy M. Reed of Luray – re-elected to second term
Circuit 27: R. Cord Hall of Christiansburg – re-elected to second term
Circuit 31: Maryse C. Allen of Prince William – re-elected to second term

Circuit 6 election-by-meetingJ. Daniel Vinson of Emporia – first term
Circuit 24 election-by-meeting: Eugene Nathaniel Butler of Lynchburg – first term
Circuit 29 election-by-meeting: D. Greg Baker of Clintwood – first term

Bar Council members can serve two three-year terms, and terms begin July 1. New members elected to a first term this year are eligible for re-election in 2022. 

Updated: Apr 25, 2019