Lawyer Resources

Mandatory Continuing Legal Education

All Active lawyers are required to complete a minimum of 4 live interactive CLE credit hours each year. Traditional live “classroom” CLE programs count towards the live requirement. Programs delivered via teleconference or webcast where there is an opportunity to interact with the speaker in real time also qualify as live. Just make sure any course you take indicates it is approved for Virginia live interactive credit. Contact the course sponsor with any questions. A partial list of already approved teleconference and webcast CLE courses is available below under Current Virginia Approved Courses.

By October 31* of each year, all active lawyers must have completed 12 hours of continuing legal education, including 2 hours in ethics/professionalism and 4 hours from live, interactive programs.

*Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the completion deadline for the 2020 MCLE requirement has been extended from October 31 to midnight EST December 31, 2020. The CLE hours need to be reported no later than 4:45 p.m. EST February 15, 2021.

Active lawyers are mailed an MCLE end-of-year report in mid-November, and any MCLE hours missing from the report must be reported by December 15 February 15, 2021.

Look up your current MCLE Report (view only)

Certify Your MCLE Attendance Online
 

Deadlines & Fees

Completion Deadline October 31
December 31, 2020
Non-compliance fee: $100
Reporting Deadline December 15
February 15, 2021
Late filing fee: $100
Late Reporting Deadline February 1
April 1
Additional late filing fee: $100

Calendar of all compliance deadlines – Deadlines are Eastern Time.

Current Virginia Approved Courses

Forms

More Information & FAQs

MCLE Opinions

 

Authority for the VSB’s mandatory continuing legal education is found in Part 6, Section IV, Rules of Supreme Court of Virginia, Paragraph 17 and the Virginia Code, Title 54.1, Chapter 39, Article 2. Failure to meet these obligations will result in accrual of delinquency fees and possible administrative suspension pursuant to Paragraph 19 of the Rules of Court. 

According to § 54.1-3914 of the Code of Virginia any attorney who fails for two successive years to pay the annual fees shall forfeit his license to practice law in the commonwealth.

Updated: Jun 25, 2020