Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Facebook Linked In You Tube Google Plus Twitter

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

Young Lawyers Conference

A Conference of the Virginia State Bar.

R. Edwin Burnette Jr. Young Lawyer of the Year Award

Young Lawyers Conference - Virginia State Bar

This award honors an outstanding young Virginia lawyer who has demonstrated dedicated service to the Young Lawyers Conference, the legal profession and the community and is presented at the VSB Annual Meeting in June.  The nomination deadline is March 26. Please send any questions to

Online Burnette Award Nomination Form


2020-2021 Christina Compagnone
2019-2020 Jamiliah D. LeCruise

2018-2019 Nicolle Vasquez Del Favero
2017-2018 Charles H. Slemp III
2016-2017 Melissa Little and Crystal Shin
2015-2016 Giovanni DiMaggio
2014-2015 Helen Chong
2013-2014 Edwin J. Wu
2012-2013 Christopher R. Fortier
2010-2011 Joanna L. Faust
2009-2010 Robert E. Byrne Jr.

Kenneth L. Alger II
Hugo R. Valverde

2006-2007 Sarah Louppe Petcher
2005-2006 Christy E. Kiely
2004-2005 O’Kelly E. McWilliams III
2003-2004 K. Brett Marston
2002-2003 Richard H. Ottinger
2001-2002 Jennifer L. McClellan
2000-2001 Edward B. Walker
1999-2000 Shawn A. Copeland
1998-1999 Maya M. Eckstein
1997-1998 Barry G. Logsdon
1996-1997 Pamela Meade Sargent
1995-1996 Tracy A. Giles
1994-1995 Julie D. McClellan
1993-1994 Scott D. Oostdyk