Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

Conference of Local and Specialty Bar Associations

A Conference of the Virginia State Bar.

Conference News and Information

May 25, 2018

Jay Myerson of Reston Wins Local Bar Leader of the Year Award

Jay B. Myerson, founder of the Myerson Law Group in Reston, has been awarded the Virginia State Bar Conference of Local and Specialty Bar Associations’ 2018 Local Bar Leader of the Year Award.

Myerson is a member of the Fairfax Bar Association where he has held many roles, including president from 2012- 2013, current chair of the Judicial Funding Task Force, and past roles as the Fairfax Bar’s delegate to the American Bar Association and member on the Fairfax County Domestic Violence Prevention Policy and Coordinating Council. He is also currently on the board of directors of the Fairfax Law Foundation.

Luis A. Perez of Luis A. Perez P.C. nominated Myerson, enumerating his numerous volunteer activities both with the Fairfax Bar and with other legal entities including the American Inns of Court, the George Mason Inns of Court, and the American Bar Association.

David J. Gogal of Blankingship & Keith seconded the nomination, noting, “Jay has tirelessly planned and coordinated the effort to persuade our state legislators to fill judicial vacancies and increase the number of judges appointed by the General Assembly, in order to meet the needs of justice in our commonwealth.”

Sharon D. Nelson of Sensei Enterprises said of Myerson, “His leadership qualities are exemplary. He gently guides people toward consensus and is always diplomatic – even when others are not.”

In his endorsement of Myerson, William P. Daly Jr. of Rees Broome PC in Tysons Corner added, “And the fact is, when someone comes looking for help, Jay is going to say yes and help regardless of how many other things he is working on.”

Myerson graduated from Georgetown University and Georgetown Law School. His practice focuses on family law and criminal defense. He has held a number of roles in the Virginia State Bar, including currently serving on Bar Council and on the faculty of the Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Course.

The CLSBA’s recognition of a Local Bar Leader of the Year identifies past and presently active leaders of local bar associations who have continued to offer important service to the bench, bar, and public. The award is a continuing monument to the dedication of local bar leaders. It also emphasizes the importance of close cooperation between the Virginia State Bar and local bar leaders.

The Conference of Local and Specialty Bar Associations will present the Local Bar Leader of the Year Award during its annual meeting on Friday, June 15, 2018 in Virginia Beach.