Real Property

Susan S. Walker, Chair

Membership:  As of June, 2016, the Section had 1,914 members.

Budget:  The budget for 2015-16 was $36,020.00.  It is anticipated that there will be a surplus returned to the Virginia State Bar, but at the time of this report the amount is unknown.

Meetings:  The Board of Governors and Area Representatives met four times during the year:

Fall Meeting – September 18, 2015, at the offices of Virginia CLE, located at 105 Whitewood Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901.

Winter Meeting – January 22, 2016, at the Williamsburg Lodge, Williamsburg, VA (during the VBA Annual Meeting).

Spring Meeting – March 4, 2016, at the Williamsburg Lodge, Williamsburg, VA (before the Section’s 20th Annual Advanced Real Estate Seminar).

Annual Meeting of the Section & Board of Governors & Area Representatives – June 17, 2016, at the Oceanaire Resort Hotel, 3421 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA.

Sponsored educational activities:  The Section sponsored, in conjunction with Virginia CLE, the 20th Annual Advanced Real Estate Seminar on March 4 and 5, 2016 (at Williamsburg Lodge) and the 34th Annual Real Estate Practice Seminar on May 11, 17 & 18, 2016 (Lexington, Williamsburg and Fairfax).  In addition, the Section sponsored a Showcase CLE program (in conjunction with the Corporate Counsel and Environmental Sections) entitled “Cybersecurity for Lawyers: Current Developments and Practical Steps Ethically to Protect your Data” on June 17, 2016, at the VSB Annual Meeting.


Other educational activities:
In addition to the foregoing CLE seminars, the Section’s educational activities included the following:

  • Publication of the Fall 2015 and Spring 2016 issues of The Fee Simple (Volume XXXVI, Number 2 and Volume XXXVII, Number 1, respectively), the Section’s newsletter. 
  • Providing Section members a tuition credit of $25 per person for the Advanced Real Estate Seminar and $15 per person for the Annual Real Estate Practice Seminar.
  • Co-sponsoring, with Virginia CLE, the Courtland Traver Award, presented annually to recognize outstanding contributions to continuing legal education.  The 2016 recipient of the Traver Award was David C. Helscher of Roanoke, Virginia.
  • Sending a notice to section members via eblast informing of the approval by ALTA/NSPS of modifications to the Minimum Standard Detail Requirements for Land Title Surveys effective February 23, 2016.


Other Activities:

The Section participated in the VSB’s annual “First Day of Practice” seminar held on December 1, 2015.  Membership Chair, Philip Hart, area representatives Larry McElwain and Edward Waugaman, and Board Member Kay Creasman each presented at the seminar. 

The Section’s Membership Committee, chaired by Philip Hart, contacted law schools to offer vouchers to allow students to attend the Section’s Annual Real Estate Practice Seminar at the Section’s expense. 

Board member and Membership Committee co-chair, Ron Wiley, continued to assist with the teaching of the Real Estate Transactions & Finance course at University of Richmond Law School.  He along with Philip Hart taught and recruited other well-qualified instructors for the law school’s two real estate courses while the full-time real estate professor was on sabbatical.  Grateful acknowledgment goes to Section Member Jay Steele and Area Representative Steven Romine for lecturing.

Board Member Katherine Byler continued to serve as an adjunct professor for the real estate transactions course at Regent University in Virginia Beach.


Committees:   The Section’s four standing committees (Membership, Programs, Fee Simple, and Technology) and six substantive committees (Commercial Real Estate, Common Interest Communities, Creditors’ Rights and Bankruptcy, Eminent Domain, Ethics, Land Use and Environmental, Residential Real Estate, and Title Insurance) convened by telephone conference call several times throughout the year.  Reports of the committee meetings were presented at the Board meetings and published in The Fee Simple for the benefit of Section membership.  

Election of Officers and New Board of Governors Members:  The Section’s Nominating Committee met by phone conference on May 3, 2016. At the Section’s Annual Meeting on June 17, 2016 presented the following slate of candidates for Section offices and Board vacancies, all of whom were elected and took office on July 1, 2016:



Chair – F. Lewis Biggs
Vice-Chair  - Whitney J. Levin

Secretary/Treasurer  - Kay M. Creasman


Member, Board of Governors, for a three-year term (term number is in parenthesis):

Stephen C. Gregory (2)

Kay M. Creasman (2)

Lori H. Schweller (1)


Susan S. Walker will serve as immediate past chair for 2016-2017.

Updated: Aug 04, 2016