The Honorable David W. Lannetti, Chair 

The Standing Committee on Professionalism is charged with the execution, administration, and ongoing oversight of the mandatory Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Course, which all newly admitted active members of the Virginia State Bar are required to attend. The purpose of the course is to encourage attorneys to uphold and elevate the standards of honor, integrity, and courtesy in the legal profession. Since institution of the program in 1988, over 40,300 new admittees have taken the course—significantly more than the current number of active Virginia licensed lawyers. 

The course faculty is comprised of distinguished lawyers and judges representing a broad cross-section of the legal profession in Virginia. Faculty members are nominated by their peers, lawyers, and members of the judiciary. Based on the needs of the course, less than ten percent of the nominees are approved by the Standing Committee on Professionalism and invited by the Chief Justice to accept appointment for a single three-year term. 

The course was offered a total of eight times during the 2017-2018 bar year as follows: three times in Northern Virginia; twice in Richmond; and once in Roanoke, Norfolk, and Charlottesville. There were approximately 1,225 attendees at these courses. The Committee noted the decline in attendance compared to previous years and presumes it was due to lower enrollment in law school (which now appears to have subsided, although course attendance necessarily lags law school enrollment). In addition, there was an all-day faculty training event each Fall for both new and returning members. 

The Committee was privileged to welcome the Honorable B. Waugh Crigler, the Honorable Douglas E. Miller, the Honorable David J. Novak, the Honorable Rossie D. Alston, Jr., the Honorable William T. Newman, Jr., the Honorable Robert S. Ballou, the Honorable Roderick C. Young, and Joseph A. Condo as luncheon speakers this year. Additionally, the VSB President—Doris Henderson Causey, this year—delivered welcoming remarks to the attendees at each course, for which the Committee is grateful. The participation of judges and 

Updated: Aug 15, 2018