Minutes of the 80th Annual Meeting

President Doris Henderson Causey called the General Session of the 80th Annual Meeting of the Virginia State Bar to order at 9:02 a.m. on Saturday, June 16, 2018, at the Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel.  She introduced Leonard C. Heath, Jr., the incoming president, who had been sworn in by The Honorable William C. Mims of the Supreme Court of Virginia the previous evening.  Mr. Heath reported on the actions of Council at its meeting on June 14, 2018.

Fifty-Year Award Recipients

Ms. Causey recognized the Fifty-Year Award recipients.

Introduction of President-elect Byrum

Mr. Heath introduced Marni E. Byrum of Alexandria, incoming president-elect.  Ms. Byrum   made brief remarks.  On motion made, seconded and unanimously approved, Marni E. Byrum   was formally elected as president-elect for the 2018-2019 bar year.

Tradition of Excellence Award

The Tradition of Excellence award was presented to Grayson P. Hanes, of McLean.  Mr. Hanes thanked those attending for the award and spoke regarding his career.  The award is given each year by the General Practice Section to a lawyer who exemplifies outstanding professional and public service.

R. Edwin Burnette, Jr. Young Lawyer of the Year Award

The R. Edwin Burnette, Jr. Young Lawyer of the Year award was presented to Charles H. Slemp, III, of Wise.  The Honorable R. Edwin Burnette, Jr. made the presentation after introductory remarks.  The award honors an outstanding young Virginia lawyer who has demonstrated dedicated service to the Young Lawyers Conference, the legal profession and the community.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:35 a.m.

Updated: Aug 16, 2018