Military Law

Leah M. Davenport, Chair


In June of 2016, the Military Law Section had 290 members. By June of 2017, the section membership was down slightly to 264 members.

Funds and Budget:

The Military Law Section began the year with $4,175.00 and ended the year with $1,056.95. The Section’s annual budget is $5,000.

Section Activities:

The Military Law Section had a successful year! As a result of increased demands and limited resources, for the Spring 2016, and succeeding, CLE offerings we partnered with Virginia CLE, with Virginia CLE assuming the greater logistics/administrative responsibilities and with a sliding-scale fee structure. Due to some scheduling issues, we were only able to sponsor one CLE program over the course of the year. The Spring CLE was held at Quantico, this time on May 19, 2016 (Sexual Assault Prosecutions in the Military—LCDR Adam Partridge; Defending Military Sexual Assault Cases—LCDR Michael Hanzel; Practice Before the Military Discharge Review Boards—Brian Pristera; A View From the Bench—CAPT Chuck Purnell; Psychology of Sexual, Emotional, Economic and Psychological Assault on Victims and Their Subsequent Perspectives—Dr. Sadie Sheafe; and Ethics – Prescott L. Prince) and offered 6 hours of CLE.. Once again, the program was an outstanding success, and the move to Virginia CLE was highly appreciated as the right thing to do.

Aaron Moores worked hard to get a Spring 2017 newsletter out, however, it was postponed to Fall 2017.

The MLS continued to partner with the Attorney General’s Office of Virginia in sponsorship of a number of clinics, that were held throughout the Commonwealth, that provided free legal assistance clinics to military personnel and veterans. These clinics continued to be a resounding success!

Special thanks go to my Vice Chair, Alexis N. Stackhouse, Board Secretary, Peter J. Jankell, Chair of the CLE Committee, Prescott L. Prince, Chair of the Newsletter Committee, Aaron Moores, and Virginia State Bar Special Projects Coordinator, Dolly C. Shaffner. It is truly a team effort and we appreciate all of our volunteers and staff.

At the VSB annual meeting in June of 2017, the Board elected new BOG members:

Brian Pristera and Scott Hallauer; and officers:

Alexis N. Stackhouse, Chair

Peter J. Jankell, Vice Chair

Prescott L. Prince, Secretary

Leah M. Davenport; Immediate Past Chair:

Respectfully submitted:

Leah M. Davenport

Updated: Aug 03, 2017