Local Government Law

Lawrence S. Spencer, Jr., Chairman


As of September 1, 2015, the Local Government Law Section had 650 members.


The budget for fiscal year 2015-2016 was $9,664.  Revenues collected in fiscal year 2016 exceeded budget and the Section completed the fiscal year with expenses under budget.  The budget for fiscal year 2015-2016 is $9,740.

Journal on Local Government Law:

The Section electronically published all four quarterly issues of the Journal of Local Government Law.  The Journal provided articles on various and diverse topics including election law, a review of a controversial UPL opinion regarding social workers, a review of the use of government facilities in light of Reed v. Town of Gilbert, protecting internal affairs files, issues associated with public employees and the use of social media, police body camera use, effective writing, changes to FOIA, the impact of Plumhoff v. Rickard on police pursuits, and changes to the Procurement Act. 

Local Government Fellowship Program for Law Students:

The Section awarded its annual fellowship to Alyssa D’Angelo and Lauren Riley.  The Local Government Law Student Fellowship Committee was chaired by Annie Kim.

Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting:

The section jointly sponsored, with the Construction Law and Litigation Sections, a Showcase CLE , “Official Acts and Honest Services in the Wake of U.S. v. McDonnell.” 


New Members:

At the annual meeting on June 17, 2016, the Section elected the following two new members to the Board of Governors for terms expiring June 30, 2019:

Bernadette Peele -- Senior Assistant County Attorney, Prince William County Attorney's Office

Jan Proctor -- Chesapeake City Attorney



At the annual meeting, the Board of Governors also elected the following officers:

Chairman -- Charles Eric Young -- Tazewell County Attorney

Vice Chairman -- Eric Anthony Gregory-- Hefty, Wiley & Gore

Secretary – Lesa J. Yeatts – Herndon Town Attorney

Updated: Aug 02, 2016