Local Government Law Section

Roderick R. Ingram, Chair

As of June 21, 2012, the Local Government Section had 640 members.

The budget for fiscal year 2011-12 was $9,375.  The budget for 2012-13 is $9,680.

Annual Meeting CLE Program
The section co-sponsored a continuing legal education program titled, “Navigating through Minority and Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Programs and Regulations.” 

Journal of Local Government Law
The section published all four quarterly issues in a timely manner.  The Journal remains a law-review-quality exposition of current legal issues facing practitioners of local government law.  Article topics included financing governmental infrastructure and capital improvements, the Line of Duty Act, real estate tax assessment appeals, partnering with non-profits, RLUIPA, the Chesapeake Bay TMDL, police internal affairs records, the state budget process, district energy systems, and a perspective from the bench on case presentations.

Significant Issues
The board voted unanimously to transition the Journal to online-only distribution beginning with the 2012-13 fiscal year.  Journal Editor Susan W. Custer helped ensure that we have valid email addresses for all section members, and the section began email distribution of the Journal last year.

The board voted to use the cost savings realized by this transition to fund a scholarship for law students with an interest in practicing local government law.  A board-appointed committee will develop a proposal for implementing the scholarship.

Officers and New Members
Officers for 2011-12 were Roderick R. Ingram, chair; Leo P. Rogers, vice-chair; and Erin C. Ward, secretary.  Blair D. Mitchell was immediate past chair.  New board members were Andrew R. McRoberts, Sharon E. Pandak, Lawrence S. Spencer Jr., Lesa J. Yeatts, and C. Eric Young.

At the section’s annual meeting on June 15, 2012, the section elected the following officers for 2012-13: Leo P. Rogers, chair; Erin C. Ward, vice-chair; and Bonnie France, secretary; and the section elected Powhatan County Attorney Eric Gregory as a new board member.

Updated: Aug 16, 2012