Judicial Candidate Evaluation Committee

Douglas L. Guynn, Chair

The Judicial Nominations Committee (JNC) was asked by the House and Senate Courts of Justice Committees to evaluate candidates for a Court of Appeals vacancy, occasioned by the retirement of the Honorable James W. Haley Jr.  Prior to the JNC’s interviews of candidates, JNC members had the opportunity to receive and review submissions by each candidate, and two-member teams were assigned to take the lead on studying each of the candidates and supplementing the written information.  Interviews of seven candidates took place on February 16, 2012, with the following JNC members attending and participating:

Douglas L. Guynn, Chair – Harrisonburg
Lisa Barker – Hanover
David W. Bouchard – Chesapeake (member at large)
John E. Byrnes – Fairfax
Mona S. Flax – Virginia Beach
Anthony H. Monioudis – Danville
Nancy G. Parr – Chesapeake
Theo K. Stamos – Arlington
Crystal Y. Twitty – Richmond
Michael M. York – Reston

As reflected in the written report issued by the JNC on February 24, 2012, these candidates received the following evaluations for the Court of Appeals: 


Judge Teresa Chafin (6-4)
Collin J. Hite (7-3)
Judge Victor Ludwig (9-0)
Maureen R. Matsen (8-2)
Monica Monday (11-0)
Larry W. Shelton (10-0)


Judge Josiah T. Showalter Jr. (10-0)

Individual summaries were included with the reports for each candidate evaluated. By action of the General Assembly of Virginia, Judge Theresa Chafin was elected to replace Judge Haley on the Court of Appeals, and she was sworn in on June 19, 2012, to begin her service on that court.

At its meeting on February 16, 2012, the committee discussed and proposed change to the JNC policy to revise its name.  This change went through the usual review and comment process and was adopted by council on June 14, 2012.  As a result, the committee’s name is now the Judicial Candidate Evaluation Committee (JCEC), reflecting its core function.  The policy can be reviewed at https://www.vsb.org/site/about/judicial-eval-1112.

After significant, valued service, Mona S. Flax, Nancy G. Parr and Steve Stephenson rotated off the JCEC  as of June 30, 2012, and Todd G. Patrick from Waynesboro, Michael A. Robusto from Virginia Beach, and David J. Whitted from Chesapeake succeeded  them,  commencing a three-year term on July 1, 2012.

Updated: Aug 15, 2012