Intellectual Property Law

Matthew R. Osenga, Chair

1.              During the 2016-17 Fiscal Year, the IP Section had 1,573 members.  The Officers and Board Members (term expiration year) of the Section:

Matthew R. Osenga, Chair
Dabney J. Carr, IV, Chair-Elect
Timothy J. Lockhart, Vice Chair
Robert M. Tyler, Secretary
Christopher Forstner, Immediate Past Chair
Tara A. Branscom (2017)
Prof. Laura A. Heymann (2017)
Robin C. Vance (2018)
Edward T. White (2018)
Sherri L. Crawford (2019)
Aaron L. Parker (2019)

2.              28th Annual Fall CLE Seminar:  The Evolving Landscape of IP – In October, the IP Section teamed with Virginia CLE to put on this annual two day event in Williamsburg.  The program included 8.0 hours of CLE presentations and was organized by the officers and Board members of the section.  Section Chair Matt Osenga moderated the program.

3.              Spring Ethics CLE Webinar—In April, the IP Section presented an Ethics CLE program on Conflicts and Confidentiality for IP Lawyers.  The webinar was attended by about 165 members of the section, which is believed to be the largest such event that the section has put on.  Board Member Aaron Parker organized this event.

4.              Law Student Writing Competition—The IP Section presented the 2016 awards to Mary Catherine Amerine, a third year student, and Kalina D. Parker, a recent graduate, both of William & Mary Law School.  Board Member Tara Branscom ran the competition.  Past Section Chair, Judge Richard Linn, of the Federal Circuit continues to grade the final round of papers.  The section has received 14 entries for the 2017 competition that ended in May.

5.              Annual Meeting CLE Program--Redskins, Slants, and Other Disparaging Trademarks:  Supreme Court Decision on the Intersection of Trademark Law and the First Amendment—Speakers included attorneys for Simon Tam in the Supreme Court case Lee v. Tam, and for the petitioners in Blackhorse v. Pro-Football, Inc.  Board member, Prof. Laura Heymann, was the moderator.

Respectfully Submitted,

Matthew R. Osenga
2016-17 Chair
Virginia State Bar, Intellectual Property Law Section

Updated: Jul 13, 2017