Intellectual Property Law

Stephen W. Palan, Chair


In fiscal 2011-12, the Intellectual Property Law Section continued its commitment to providing continuing legal education to its members and sponsoring scholarship opportunities. The Intellectual Property Law Section had 1,633 members, and a projected budget of $39,128.

During the 74th Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting in June 2012, the section sponsored a 1.5-hour CLE program, “Protecting Trade Secrets:  Strategic Advice for Today's Information Economy.”  Our panel included three attorneys who represented DuPont in its successful trade secret suit, which resulted in a damages award of $920 million in favor of DuPont.  This CLE was organized by board member Christopher J. Forstner.

The section’s 23rd Annual Fall CLE Program took place September 23-24, 2011, at the Westin in Arlington.  The program highlights included a live hearing with the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board (TTAB) and a presentation on the implementation of the newly enacted America Invents Act by Robert Stoll, Commissioner of Patents.  This CLE was organized by board members Jonathan R. Bowser, David E. Finkelson, and Christopher P. Foley.   

The section continued its annual writing competition for law students, with U.S. Judge Richard Linn of the Federal Circuit again serving as the final judge. Our 2011 student writing competition winner was Christopher Reaves, a 2011 graduate of the George Washington University Law School.  His paper was titled “Whose Tube?  Youtube's Rights, Liabilities, and Incentives Under 17 U.S.C. § 512.” Mr. Reaves attended the 2011 Fall CLE program, where Judge Linn presented him with his $4,000 prize and a commemorative plaque.  The $4,000 prize for 2012 will be awarded during our Fall CLE program in Alexandria.  The writing competition was organized by board member Robert A. Angle.

The section also continued its $4,000 scholarship through the American Intellectual Property Law Education Foundation for a law student who is attending a law school in Virginia or is a Virginia resident attending law school in another state.  The scholarship was awarded to Timothy Andrew Cook of University of Virginia’s School of Law.

The board revised the Virginia State Bar’s Intellectual Property pamphlet, titled Protecting Your Intellectual Property: Patents, Trademarks & Copyrights, which will be published shortly.  Board members Tara L. Hutchings and Jonathan R. Bowser were primarily responsible for managing this project and board members Matthew R. Osenga and Timothy J. Lockhart assisted with the revisions.

The Intellectual Property Law Section is the featured section for the June/July issue of the Virginia Lawyer magazine, with board members Christopher P. Foley, Matthew R. Osenga, and Timothy J. Lockhart contributing articles.

The section hosted its annual one-hour ethics presentation in Alexandria on May 17, 2012. This successful event was coordinated by board members Timothy Lockhart and Stephen Palan and hosted by Jonathan Bowser.

At the 2012 VSB Annual Meeting, the section elected new officers and members to the board of governors. Officers for fiscal 2012-13 are Christopher Foley, chair; Robert Angle, chair-elect; David Finkelson, vice chair, and Christopher Forstner, secretary. Newly elected board members both for terms for three-year terms were Neil Cohen and Dennis Browne.

Additionally, the section continued to communicate with its members through email and its website, which has been updated and maintained by our great webmaster and ex-officio board member, Matthew Osenga.

Updated: Aug 16, 2012