Intellectual Property Law

David W. Hill, chair

In fiscal 2010-11, the Intellectual Property Law Section continued its commitment to providing continuing legal education to its members and to sponsoring scholarship opportunities. The Intellectual Property Law Section had a total of 1,616 members, and its projected budget was $35,856.

During the Seventy-third Annual Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting in June 2011, the section sponsored a 1.5-hour CLE program, “The Changing Face of IP and Its Impact on Modern Business.”  This was a joint program with the Business Law Section, and it included a panel with retired federal judge Paul R. Michel and Thomas A. Boshinski of MeadeWestvaco Corp.  This CLE was organized by board members Christopher J. Forstner and Dabney J. Carr IV.

The section’s Twentieth-second Annual Fall CLE Program took place October 2–3, 2010, at the Williamsburg Lodge.  This CLE was organized by board members Robert A. Angle, Christopher P. Foley and Matthew R. Osenga.  SharonBarner, a former deputy undersecretary of commerce and former deputy director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, headed a panel of speakers on topics that included ediscovery and the aftermath of In re Bilski.

The section is continuing its annual writing competition for law students, with U.S. Judge Richard Linn of the Federal Circuit again serving as the final judge. Our 2010 student writing competition winner was Timothy Cook, a rising third-year law student at the University of Virginia. His paper was titled “A Comparative Institutional Analysis of Pharmaceutical Reverse-Payment Settlement Regulation.”  Mr. Cook attended the 2010 Fall CLE Program, where he was presented with his $4,000 prize and a commemorative plaque.  The $4,000 prize for 2011 will be awarded during our Fall CLE Program in Arlington. 

Additionally, the section provided a $4,000 scholarship through the American Intellectual Property Law Education Foundation for a law student who is attending a law school in Virginia or is a Virginia resident attending law school in another state.  The scholarship was awarded to Patrick M. Lafferty, a 2010 graduate of George Washington University Law School, during our annual dinner in Virginia Beach on June 16, 2011.

The section hosted its third webinar, a one-hour ethics presentation in Richmond on May 10, 2011. This successful event was coordinated by board members Norman F. Oblon and Stephen W. Palan and hosted by Robert A. Angle.

At the 2011 VSB Annual Meeting, the section elected new officers and members to the board of governors. Officers for fiscal 2011-12 are Stephen W. Palan, chair; Christopher P. Foley, chair-elect; Robert A. Angle, vice chair, and David Finkelson, secretary. Newly elected board members both for terms for three-year terms were Timothy J. Lockhart and Tara L. Hutchings.

Additionally, the section continued to communicate with its members through email and its website, which has been updated and maintained by our great webmaster and board member, Matthew R. Osenga.

Updated: Jul 25, 2011