Intellectual Property Law

Kristan B. Burch, chair

In fiscal 2008-09, the Intellectual Property Law Section continued its commitment to providing continuing legal education to its members and to sponsoring scholarship opportunities. The Intellectual Property Law Section had a total of 1,064 members, and its projected budget was $45,000.

The section’s Twentieth Annual Fall CLE program took place September 26-27, 2008, at the Williamsburg Lodge. This CLE was organized by board members Christopher P. Foley and Thomas W. Brooke. Speakers included U.S. Judge Alan D. Lourie of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Topics included ethics presentations on inequitable conduct and presentations on protecting business methods, infringement of design patents, performance rights, enforcement of anti-counterfeiting statutes, and protection of famous marks and dilution.

The section hosted its first webinar – a one-hour ethics presentation – on May 7, 2009. This event was coordinated by board members Christopher Foley, Stephen W. Palan, and Robert A. Angle.

The section is hosting its annual writing competition for law students, with U.S. Judge Richard Linn of the Federal Circuit again serving as the final judge. The $4,000 prize will be awarded in fall 2010 at our annual Fall CLE. The writing competition is being coordinated by board members Melanie C. Holloway and David E. Finkelson.

The section sponsored a scholarship through the American Intellectual Property Law Education Foundation, and the winner of the Jancin Competition was Joseph Edell of the George Washington University Law School.

The section continued to communicate with its members through e-mail, and its website,

In addition to offering a 1.5-hour CLE program at the Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting in June 2008, the section revised its bylaws and prepared a five-year strategic plan.

At the 2009 VSB Annual Meeting, the section elected new officers and members to the board of governors. Officers for fiscal 2009-10 are Susan M. Dadio, chair; David W. Hill, chair-elect; Stephen W. Palan, vice chair; and Christopher P. Foley, secretary. New board members include Matthew R. Osenga and Christopher J. Forstner.

Updated: Sep 03, 2009