Special Committee on the Resolution of Fee Disputes

by Anthony F. Troy, Chair 


Circuit Committees on the Resolution of Fee Disputes

There are currently twelve CCRFDs in Virginia. The SCRFD hopes to establish at least two more CCRFDs in the coming year. The committee would like to encourage judges and attorneys to continue to consider using this program in appropriate attorney-client fee dispute matters.  Meanwhile, the committee has set a goal to eventually establish sufficient CCRFDs to provide the program throughout the commonwealth.


The SCRFD coordinated with the Virginia Mediation Network to send out an updated request for volunteers to Virginia Certified mediators in the fall of 2010. The SCRFD offered program training in Fairfax, Richmond, and Norfolk for arbitrators and mediators during the month of May. There were forty-nine participants in the training. Four hours of CLE (including one in ethics), and four hours of CME credit were offered. A video is planned for others interested in the training. The committee continues to be interested in offering training to new mediators and arbitrators.


In fiscal year 2011, two-hundred forty-one fee dispute packets were mailed from the VSB in response to requests.  In that time period, chairs received agreements to participate from client petitioners in seventy-eight instances and from attorney petitioners in eight instances.  Agreements were returned from client respondents in four cases and from attorney respondents in twenty-eight cases. There were eight arbitrations and ten mediations. 

As these statistics demonstrate, members of the bar are still either unaware or more likely unwilling to use the program, even when their clients or former clients are willing to do so.  Thus articles about the program have been prepared for publication in Virginia Lawyer and an article regarding the program has appeared in the Virginia Lawyers Weekly.


Committee members for 2010-11 were Anthony F. Troy, chair; Geetha Ravindra, vice chair; Carolyn M. Grimes; Stephen K. Lewellyn; Bruce H. Matson; Frank G. Uvanni; Deborah C. Welsh; Joseph C. Fleig; and Gloria Twitty.

Updated: Sep 30, 2011