Environmental Law

Eric A. DeGroff, Chair

∙         Membership

There were 373 members of the section as of June 2017.  The officers of the Environmental Law Section for 2016-2017 were Eric DeGroff, chair; Dale Mullen, vice-chair; Patrick Fanning, secretary; and Lisa Ochsenhirt, immediate past chair.

∙         Virginia CLE Programming

The section developed and presented a seminar on Renewable Energy that will be placed on the Virginia CLE website this summer.  The section discussed a goal of developing one or two seminars each year in order to provide section members a selection of environmental topics for fulfillment of their annual CLE requirements.  This year’s seminar was the first installment in that process.

∙         Contribution to the Virginia Lawyer

The Environmental Law Section was featured in the April 2017 edition of the Virginia Lawyer, and placed four articles in that edition focusing on water law and sustainability at the state, regional and national level.

∙         Law Student Writing Competition

The section sponsored the 6th Annual Virginia State Bar Robert R. Merhige Environmental Op-Ed Competition -- a statewide, law student environmental editorial-writing competition.  Members of the Section’s Board of Governors assisted in the selection of the winning entry from the twelve submissions and the section fully funded the cash prizes.  The competition was changed this year to allow for three cash-award winners – first, second, and third place – and the total cash prize was increased from $750 to $ 900.

∙         New Officers

Officers elected for 2017-2018 are Dale Mullen, chair; Patrick Fanning, vice-chair; and Gary Bryant, secretary.

Updated: Jul 12, 2017