Environmental Law Section

Kerri L. Nicholas, chair

There were 422 members of the section as of June 2013.  This is around the same from the previous year’s membership numbers.  The board of governors consisted of Kerri Nicholas, chair; Ellen Porter, vice chair; Ben Thorp, secretary; and Tammy Belinsky, immediate past chair. 

Annual Meeting CLE Program
The Environmental Law and Administrative Law sections jointly sponsored a CLE program at the Annual Meeting titled “The Future of Coal.” The program was moderated by Kristian M. Dahl (McGuireWoods LLP) and featured presentations Michael G. Dowd (Virginia Department of Environmental Quality), James E. Eck (Dominion Virginia Power), and Brooks M. Smith (Hunton & Williams LLP), and questions from the attendees.  

Law Student Competition
The Environmental Law Section co-sponsored the 2013 University of Richmond-Virginia State Bar Robert R. Merhige Environmental Op-Ed Competition, a statewide, law student environmental-editorial writing competition.  Members of the board assisted in the selection of the winning entry from the thirteen submissions and the section contributed to the cash prize.

Other Programs
In the spring of 2013, the section co-sponsored a social event with the Richmond Bar Association Environmental & Energy Law Section.  This was the first event of its kind and it gave members of the two environmental associations an opportunity to network and discuss possible ways the two groups could assist one another with CLE opportunities.

Officers elected for 2013-2014 are Ellen M. Porter, chair; Ben Thorp, vice-chair; and Max Weigard, secretary.

Updated: Jul 10, 2013