Environmental Law Section

Tammy L. Belinsky, chair

425 members as of June 2012.

Annual Meeting CLE Program
The Environmental Law and Administrative Law Sections jointly sponsored a CLE program at the Annual Meeting titled “Prospects for Uranium Mining in Virginia.” The program featured Katherine E. Slaughter, who moderated questions asked of Timothy G. Hayes (Hunton & Williams) and Caleb A. Jaffe (Southern Environmental Law Center), and questions from the attendees.  Catherine J. France, Deputy Director of Energy Policy for the Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy, withdrew from the program presentation several days before the presentation.

Member Communication
The board has struggled with replacement of the newsletter since law student assistance terminated several years ago.  The budget is too meager to hire professional assistance, and even the preparation of a quarterly update of regulatory developments seems a significant burden on a volunteer basis.  In the spring of 2012, we distributed a member survey, the results of which generally indicate that a web-based communication tool would be well-received.  The section also maintains an electronic mailing list to distribute section news and events.

Law Student Competition
The Environmental Law Section co-sponsored a statewide, law student environmental-editorial writing competition.  Members of the board assisted in the selection of the winning entry and the section contributed to the cash prize.

Other Programs
In the spring of 2012, the section co-sponsored a CLE program with the University of Richmond titled “Clearing the Air:  Mercury in the Environment.  The program featured presentations made by legal scholars and attorneys from industry, government, private, and non-profit practice.

The summer 2011 volume of Virginia Lawyer featured environmental law topics.  The authors were recruited and their articles vetted by the Environmental Law Section in the 2010-2011 program-year under the leadership of the past chair, Andrea W. Wortzel.

Officers elected for 2012-2013 are Kerri L. Nicholas, chair; Ellen M. Porter, vice-chair; and Benjamin Thorpe, secretary.

Updated: Aug 16, 2012