Environmental Law Section

Andrea W. Wortzel, chair


In July 2011, the Environmental Law Section had 411 members.


The budget for fiscal year 2010–11 was $6,480.

Annual meeting CLE program

The Environmental Law Section joined with the Administrative Law Section to sponsor a continuing legal education program, “The Search for New Sources of Energy,” at the Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting. The program featured Maureen F.R. Matsen, Virginia deputy secretary of natural resources; Carol Wampler of the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality; Caleb A. Jaffe of the Southern Environmental Law Center; and Mary C. Doswell, senior vice president of Alternative Energy Solutions of Dominion Resource Services Inc. The program was moderated by Arlen K. Bolstad of the State Corporation Commission Office of General Counsel.  The program focused on the pros and cons of alternative sources of energy and programs Virginia has in place to encourage development of such sources.

Member communication

In 2010–11, the Environmental Law Section initiated a quarterly update of environmental regulatory developments for our membership. The section board of governors has struggled with the usefulness of providing such an update, particularly given the time it takes to prepare it.  In the coming year, the board will reevaluate the best means of communicating with our members and the type of information that would be useful.  The section also maintains an electronic mailing list, which is used to announce section news or events.

Law student competition

The Environmental Law Section again sponsored the University of Richmond’s environmental editorial competition, contributing to the cash prize for the winning entry.

Other programs

The Environmental Law Section coordinated with the annual Environment Virginia conference and Virginia CLE to hold a CLE program in Lexington. The program, “Checks and Balances:  Implementation of Federally Delegated Environmental Programs in Virginia,” was very well received, and our members appreciated the fact that the program was held outside of Richmond.  Speakers included Michael G. Dowd of the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, Kevin J. Finto of Hunton & Williams LLP, Matthew D. Melewski of Hunton & Williams, Margaret L. “Peggy” Sanner of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, and Jeffrey Steers of DEQ. Melanie Davenport of DEQ moderated the discussion. 


Officers elected for 2011–12 were Tammy L. Belinsky, chair; Kerri L. Nicholas, vice chair; and Ellen M. Porter, secretary.  Andrea W. Wortzel is immediate past chair.

Updated: Jul 26, 2011