Education of Lawyers in Virginia

Jim Moliterno, Chair  


As of June 2016, the Education of Lawyers Section had 508 members, compared to 539 last year. The membership included 246 active members, 53 judicial members, and 202 members of the Academy. 


The budget for fiscal year 2015-16 was $9,200.  

Rakes Leadership in Education Award

The 2016 recipient of the Rakes Leadership in Education Award was Chief Justice Donald W. Lemons.

Special Recognition

The Section spearheaded a successful effort to have W. Scott Street III posthumously honored with a special resolution at the 2016 Annual Meeting.

Follow Up to the 2012 20th Anniversary Conclave

The Section continued to follow up on the 2012 Conclave on legal education reform, and on the 2014-15 efforts, by pressing forward to facilitate the creation of high-quality writing CLE programs. Under the leadership of Jeanne Franklin, in collaboration with VaCLE and the VBA Law Practice Management,  the program successfully débuted in April 2016. Plans for replicating the program are underway.

Prelaw Efforts

This year our section has partnered with the Young Lawyers’ Conference to support its minority prelaw conference.  We offered $500 in financial support and initiated a mentoring program that permits attendees to be matched with a mentor from the Section or the YLC.

Professionalism Program

The Section presented a professionalism program for law students at each of the eight law schools in Virginia.  John Bredehoft and Frank Telegadas led this effort.   


The Section published two editions of its newsletter, Education & Practice, in the fall and in the spring under the leadership of its editor, Prof. Dale Cecka of the University of Richmond.


Officers elected for 2016-17 were John Bredehoft, Chair, Judge Pamela Sargent, Vice Chair, and Kimberly Pierro, Secretary. Jim Moliterno is the Immediate Past Chair.

Updated: Aug 02, 2016