Education of Lawyers

Prof. A. Benjamin Spencer, chair  


As of June 2014, the Education of Lawyers in Virginia Section had 428 members.  


The budget for fiscal year 2013-14 was $9,900.  

Rakes Leadership in Education Award

The 2014 recipient of the Rakes Leadership in Education Award was Senior Justice Elizabeth Lacy.

Follow Up to the 2012 20th Anniversary Conclave

The section continued to follow up on the 2012 Conclave on Legal Education reform by focusing on legal writing education, with a particular focus on CLE programming.  After reviewing the terrain, the section hosted a luncheon of leaders from the VBA, the VSB, and the Virginia Bar Foundation to discuss how to improve legal writing CLE offerings in Virginia.  This effort, which is ongoing, is chaired by Jeanne Franklin.

Prelaw Efforts

This year our section has partnered with the Young Lawyers’ Conference to support its minority prelaw conference.  We offered $500 in financial support and initiated a mentoring program that permits attendees to be matched with a mentor from the section or the YLC.

Professionalism Program

The section presented a professionalism program for law students at each of the eight law schools in Virginia.  Judge B. Waugh Crigler and John Bredehoft led this effort.   


The section published two editions of its newsletter, Education & Practice, in the fall and in the spring under the leadership of its editor, Prof. Dale Cecka of the University of Richmond.


Officers elected for 2014-15 were Prof. Jim Moliterno, chair; Judge Crigler, vice chair; and Sharon Pandak, secretary. A. Benjamin Spencer is the Immediate Past-Chair.

Updated: Jul 01, 2014