Education of Lawyers in Virginia Section

A. Benjamin Spencer, chair

As of June 2013, the Education of Lawyers Section had 465 members, including practicing attorneys, judges and faculty members from each of the Virginia law schools.  

The budget for fiscal year 2012-13 was $9,900.  

Rakes Leadership in Education Award
The Section presented its second Rakes Leadership in Education Award to W. Taylor Reveley III, president of the College of William and Mary, on June 13, 2013, in conjunction with the 75th Annual Meeting of the Virginia State Bar.

Follow Up to Conclave 2012
The Section hosted a 20th Anniversary Conclave on the Education of Lawyers on April 22–23, 2012.  In the wake of that Conclave, the Section published several pieces in the October issue of the Virginia Lawyer magazine reporting and commenting on the proceedings.  The Section decided to begin taking action on the findings of the Conclave by initiating an effort to study legal writing education and ability in Virginia, with an eye towards developing recommendations for improving the writing ability of law graduates and practitioners in the Commonwealth.  This effort is being chaired by Justice Elizabeth B. Lacy.

Prelaw Committee
Last year the Section’s Prelaw Committee sponsored a prelaw conference for high school students in February 2012 at Regent University Law School.  This year the committee was inactive due to the relocation of its chair (Bill Thro) out of state.  In the future, we plan to partner with the Young Lawyers’ Conference and to support the prelaw programs that the YLC has been conducting twice each year.

Professionalism Program
The Section presented a professionalism program for law students at each of the eight law schools in Virginia.  Judge B. Waugh Crigler and William E. Glover led this effort.   

The Section published one edition of its newsletter, Education & Practice, in the spring under the leadership of its new editor, Prof. Dale Margolin Cecka of the University of Richmond. The fall issue was superseded by our October features in the Virginia Lawyer magazine.

Election of Officers and Board of Governors
This year’s nominating committee was chaired by Professor Margaret Ivey Bacigal, and included Eleanor W. Brown, Dean Davison M. Douglas, John H. Foote, and Kimberly C. MacLeod. The committee proposed the following slate of officers and board members who were duly elected for the 2013-2014 bar year, beginning July 1, 2013:

  • Prof. A. Benjamin Spencer – Chair
  • Judge B. Waugh Crigler - Vice Chair
  • Sharon E. Pandak – Secretary


  • Professor Henry L. Chambers, Jr. – University of Richmond School of Law
  • Amanda L. Glickman - Media General, Inc., Richmond
  • Judge Mary Grace O’Brien - 31st Judicial Circuit Court, Manassas
  • Judge H. Thomas Padrick, Jr. – Virginia Beach Circuit Court (re-elected to second term)
  • Sharon E. Pandak – Greehan, Taves, Pandak & Stoner PLLC (re-elected to second term)

The Section also thanks the following board members whose terms are ending June 30, 2013: Alan S. Goldberg, John H. Foote, and William E. Thro.



Updated: Jul 10, 2013