Education of Lawyers in Virginia Section

A. Benjamin Spencer, chair

As of June 2012, the Education of Lawyers Section had 456 members.  

The budget for fiscal year 2011-12 was $13,025   

2012 20th Anniversary Conclave
The Section hosted a conclave on legal education reform on April 22–23, 2012.  A committee, chaired by President W. Taylor Reveley III of William & Mary and William R. Rakes, planned this event, which was a great success.  There were eighty attendees, representing the bench, bar, and academia.  The section will be reporting on the proceedings in a fall 2012 edition of the Virginia Lawyer.  The section also plans to identify ideas from the conclave that it can help turn into action items for the section and the broader legal community.

Rakes Leadership in Education Award
The section established an award to honor William R. Rakes for his longstanding and dedicated efforts in the field of legal education, both in Virginia and nationally. The inaugural award was presented to Mr.  Rakes in conjunction with the 20th Anniversary Conclave held in April 2012. The award will recognize an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and vision in developing and implementing innovative concepts to improve and enhance the state of legal education, and in enhancing relationships and professionalism among members of the academy, the bench and the bar within the legal profession in Virginia.

In future years, nominations will be invited annually by the section’s board of governors, although the award may only be made from time to time at the discretion of the selection committee to be appointed by the section’s board of governors.  Gentry Locke Rakes & Moore LLP has agreed to underwrite the award and a special event to honor future award recipients on an ongoing basis.

Prelaw Committee
This year the section’s Prelaw Committee, which was chaired by William E. Thro, was a huge success.  It was able to put on a prelaw conference for high school students in February 2012 at Regent University Law School.  The purpose of this conference was to enable high school students to learn about the profession and the requirements for law school admissions. Speakers included lawyers from a variety of practice fields, judges, and law students.  It is our hope that we will continue to put on such events throughout the Commonwealth each year.

Professionalism Program
The section presented a professionalism program for law students at each of the eight law schools in Virginia.  Judge B. Waugh Crigler and William E. Glover led this effort.   

The section published two editions of its newsletter, Education & Practice, under the leadership of its new editor, Prof. Dale Margolin Cecka of the University of Richmond.

Officers & New Board Members
The nominating committee chaired by Professor Hank Chambers submitted the following slate of officers and board members who were elected for 2012-2013:

Prof. A. Benjamin Spencer, chair
Judge B. Waugh Crigler, vice chair
William Glover, secretary  

Board of Governors
Humes Franklin III (Staunton, second term)
Michael Glasser (Norfolk, first term)
Michael Guanzon (Danville, first term)
Hon. Elizabeth Lacy (Richmond, first term)
Hon. Pamela Meade Sargent (Abingdon, first term)
Amandeep Sidhu (Washington, D.C., second term)

In addition, the following individuals who became dean on July 1 will be invited to serve on the board:
Nora V. Demleitner,  Washington and Lee School of Law
Lucy S. McGough, Appalachian School of Law   


Updated: Aug 16, 2012