Criminal Law Section

Joel R. Branscom, Chair

It has been an honor to serve as Chair of the Virginia State Bar’s Section on Criminal Law for the 2014-2015 bar year. My fellow officers included Andrea L. Moseley, Vice-Chair; Colette Wallace McEachin, Secretary, and Francis McQ. Lawrence, Immediate Past Chair. 

The following members joined the board on July 1, 2014:  Tracy Quackenbush Martin, of Halifax; Seth C. Weston, of Roanoke; and Judge William E. Jarvis, of Manassas. In addition, Timothy J. Heaphy, of Charlottesville, U.S. Attorney for the Western District of Virginia, joined the board as an ex officio member.

Newsletter editor Professor Ron Bacigal published four issues of Criminal Law News during the year, and also completed the 2015 Supplement to the Capital Case Trial Manual

The Section sponsored its 45th Annual Criminal Law Seminar in February 2015, with a live session in Charlottesville on February 6, followed by a live Williamsburg session on February 13. Section Vice-Chair Andrea Moseley served as seminar program chair and moderator. Total seminar attendance included 511 for the live February sessions, and an additional 197 for the video replays held in March and April 2015.    

The section’s Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Award was presented at the Williamsburg Seminar to The Honorable Jerrauld C. Jones, judge of the Norfolk Circuit Court. 

In conjunction with the 77th Annual Meeting of the Virginia State Bar, the section cosponsored a Showcase CLE program with the Bankruptcy, Corporate Counsel, Family Law and Health Law sections on Friday, June 19 entitled, Budding Issues: What Virginia Lawyers Need to Know About The Changing Marijuana Landscape. The program was lively and engaging, with approximately 200 bar members pre-registered for the program.

The following slate of officers and new board members were unanimously elected at the section’s business meeting during the Annual Meeting, for terms beginning July 1, 2015: Andrea Moseley, Chair; Colette Wallace McEachin, Vice Chair; and Timothy J. Heaphy, Secretary; Richard H. Doummar, of Doummar & O’Brien, Virginia Beach, board member; Maria Jankowski, Virginia Indigent Defense Commission, Richmond, board member; James E. Plowman, Commonwealth’s Attorney for Loudon County, Board member;  and Judge Robert S. Ballou, Magistrate Judge, Western District of Virginia, Roanoke, board member. 

On behalf of the board, I extend our sincere appreciation to outgoing board members whose terms ended on June 30: Robert G. Morecock, Theo K. Stamos, Judge Ivan D. Davis, and Immediate Past Chair, Francis McQ. Lawrence.

At fiscal year-end, the section’s membership was 2,491, including 2,104 Active and Associate members; 359 Judicial members; and 28 Non-Bar members.  The section’s operating budget for the fiscal year was $52,000. 

Updated: Jun 26, 2015