Criminal Law

Colette Wallace McEachin, Chair

It has been an honor to serve as chair of the Virginia State Bar’s Section on Criminal Law for the 2016-2017 bar year.  My fellow officers included Timothy J. Heaphy, Vice Chair; Nancy G. Parr, Secretary; and Andrea Moseley, Immediate Past Chair. 

The following members joined the board on July 1, 2016:  Judge Tanya Bullock, of the Virginia Beach J&DR Court ; Michael R. Doucette, Lynchburg Commonwealth’s Attorney; David R. Lett, of the Petersburg Public Defender’s Office; and Judge Richard S. Wallerstein, of the Henrico County Circuit Court.

With a membership of 2,413 members, including 2,047 active members and 324 judicial members, the section remains the second largest section of the Virginia State Bar. Its operating budget for 2016-2017 was $53,600.

Newsletter editor Professor Ron Bacigal, of the University of Richmond, published four issues of Criminal Law News during the year, and also completed the 2017 edition of the Capital Case Trial Manual

The section sponsored its 47th Annual Criminal Law Seminar in February 2017, with a live session in Williamsburg on February 3, followed by a live Charlottesville session on February 10.  Section Vice-Chair Tim Heaphy served as seminar program chair and moderator. Total seminar attendance included 557 for the live February sessions, and an additional 150 for the video replays held in March and April.    

The section’s Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Award was presented at the Williamsburg Seminar to Philip J. Hirschkop, of Alexandria.

As part of its ongoing partnership with Virginia law schools, the Section awarded stipends in June 2017 to the public law schools (George Mason, UVA and William & Mary) to fund student internships in the field of criminal justice for the summer of 2018.

In conjunction with the 79th Annual Meeting of the Virginia State Bar, the section cosponsored a Showcase CLE program with the Family Law Section on Friday, June 16,2017: Access to Justice: Bonds and Bail Issues. The program drew a crowd of approximately 100 lawyers and judges.

In conjunction with the State Bar’s Annual Meeting, the section held its annual business meeting at which time the following officers were elected for a one year term beginning July 1, 2017: Timothy J. Heaphy, Chair; Nancy G. Parr, Vice Chair; and Seth Weston, Secretary. The following board members were also elected to four-year terms, beginning July 1, 2017: Steven P. Milani, Office of the Capital Defender, Roanoke; and J Daniel Vinson, Randall Page PC, Courtland.  

On behalf of the board, I extend our sincere appreciation to board member Manuel E. Leiva and Immediate Past Chair, Andrea Moseley, whose terms ended on June 30th.

Updated: Jul 11, 2017