Criminal Law

Timothy J. Heaphy, Chair 

It has been an honor to serve as chair of the Virginia State Bar’s Section on Criminal Law for the 2017-2018 bar year. My fellow officers included Nancy G. Parr, Vice Chair; Seth Weston, Secretary; and Colette McEachin, Immediate Past Chair. 

The following members joined the board on July 1, 2017: Steven P. Milani of the Office of the Capital Defender in Roanoke and James D. Vinson of Randall Page in Emporia. 

With a membership of 2,406 members, including 2,038 active members and 335 judicial members, the section remains the second largest section of the Virginia State Bar. Its operating budget for 2017-2018 was $53,600. 

Newsletter editor Professor Ron Bacigal, of the University of Richmond, published four issues of Criminal Law News during the year, and also completed the 2018 edition of the Capital Case Trial Manual

The section sponsored its 48th Annual Criminal Law Seminar in February 2018, with a live session in Charlottesville on February 2, followed by a live Williamsburg session on February 9. Section Vice-Chair Nancy Parr served as seminar program chair and moderator. Total seminar attendance included 481 for the live February sessions, and an additional 165 for the video replays held in March and April. 

The section’s Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Award was presented at the Williamsburg Seminar to Stephen A. Isaacs of Richmond. 

As part of its ongoing partnership with Virginia law schools, the Section awarded stipends in June 2018 to the public law schools (George Mason, UVA and William & Mary) to fund student internships in the field of criminal justice for the summer of 2019. 

In conjunction with the 80th Annual Meeting of the Virginia State Bar, the section cosponsored a Showcase CLE program with the Family Law Section on Friday, June 16,2017: Access to Justice: Bonds and Bail Issues. The program drew a crowd of approximately 100 lawyers and judges. 

In conjunction with the State Bar’s Annual Meeting, the section held its annual business meeting at which time the following officers were elected for a one year term beginning July 1, 2018: Nancy G. Parr, Chair; and Seth Weston, Vice Chair; and S. Eugene Fishel, IV, Secretary. The following board members were also elected to four-year terms, beginning July 1, 2018: Joseph D. Platania of Charlottesville; Theresa J. Royall of Nottoway; Judge Tasha D. Scott of Norfolk; and Judge Gordon S. Vincent of Accocmac. 

On behalf of the board, I extend our sincere appreciation to board members Judge William E. Jarvis, Tracy Q. Martin and Immediate Past Chair, Colette Wallace McEachin, whose terms ended on June 30th. 

Respectfully submitted, 

Timothy J. Heaphy, Chair 

Updated: Jul 17, 2018