Criminal Law

Seth C. Weston, Chair

It has been an honor to serve as chair of the Virginia State Bar’s Section on Criminal Law for the 2019-2020 bar year.  The section continues to serve the needs for Virginia lawyers by bringing together both defense and prosecution attorneys to produce programming for Virginia lawyers and to share knowledge of the profession.

With a membership of 2,402 members, including 337 judicial members, the section remains the second largest section of the Virginia State Bar. Its operating budget for 2019-2020 was $52,400.

Newsletter editor Professor Ron Bacigal, of the University of Richmond, published three issues of Criminal Law News during the year and assisted with the annual seminar.

The section sponsored its 50th Annual Criminal Law Seminar in February 2020, with a live session in Charlottesville on February 7th, followed by a live Williamsburg session on February 14th.  Section Vice-Chair Gene Fishel served as seminar program chair and moderator. Total seminar attendance included 556 for the live February sessions, and unfortunately, the video replays were cancelled due to the COVID19 health crisis.     

The section’s Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Award was presented at the Williamsburg Seminar to the Honorable Junius P. Fulton, III, from the Norfolk Circuit Court.

As part of its ongoing partnership with Virginia law schools, the Section awarded stipends in June 2020 to the public law schools (George Mason, UVA and William & Mary) to fund student internships in the field of criminal justice for the summer of 2021. 

 Leadership for the 2020-2021 year will be Samuel Eugene Fishel IV, Chair;  J. Daniel Vinson, Vice Chair; and Nancy G. Parr, Immediate Past Chair.  The VSB Annual Meeting was also cancelled due to COVID19, so new members Judge Devon R. Paige, Judge Michael R. Doucette, Jacqueline M. Reiner, and Susan M.P. Fierro were elected by electronic polling of the membership.  

On behalf of the board, I extend our sincere appreciation to board members David R. Lett, Judge Tanya Bullock, and Judge Richard S. Wallerstein Jr.  whose terms ended on June 30.

Respectfully submitted,
Seth C. Weston, Chair

Updated: Jul 16, 2020