Criminal Law Section

Lisa K. Caruso, chair

It has been an honor to serve as chair of the Virginia State Bar’s Section on Criminal Law for the 2012-2013 bar year.  This year’s officers were:  Lisa K. Caruso, chair; Francis McQ. Lawrence, vice chair; Joel R. Branscom, secretary, and Casey R. Stevens, immediate past chair. 

The following new members joined the board on July 1, 2012:  Melissa H. Hoy, deputy commonwealth’s attorney in Chesterfield County; Elizabeth P. Murtagh, office of the public defender in Charlottesville; Judge Rufus A. Banks Jr., J&DR Court in Chesapeake; and Judge Steven C. Frucci, Virginia Beach General District Court.

The section produced a theme issue for Virginia Lawyer magazine in December 2012, an effort that was spearheaded by Judge Ashley Tunner, of Richmond.  Newsletter editor Professor Ron Bacigal published four issues of Criminal Law News during the year, and also completed the 2013 supplement to the Capital Case Trial Manual.

The section sponsored its 43rd Annual Criminal Law Seminar in February 2013, with a live session in Charlottesville on February 1 followed by a live Williamsburg session on February 8.  Section Vice Chair Fran Lawrence served as seminar program chair and moderator. Total attendance included 608 for the live February sessions, and an additional 218 for the video replays held in March and April 2013.

The section’s Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Award was presented at the Charlottesville seminar to Claire G. Cardwell, of Stone, Cardwell & Dinkin PLC, in Richmond.

In conjunction with the 75th Annual Meeting of the Virginia State Bar, the section presented a CLE program on June 14 titled, Techno-phobe or Techno-phile: How to Make the Best Case with What You Have. Board member Melissa Hoy served as the program chair and moderator.

The following slate of officers and new board members were unanimously elected at the section’s business meeting following the CLE program, for terms beginning July 1, 2013: Fran Lawrence, chair; Joel Branscom, vice chair; Andrea Moseley, secretary; Manuel E. Leiva, board member; and Esther J. Windmueller, board member. 

On behalf of the board, I extend our sincere appreciation to outgoing board members whose terms ended on June 30: Claire G. Cardwell, of Richmond; John P. Fishwick of Roanoke; and Immediate Past Chair Casey R. Stevens, of Woodbridge.

At fiscal year-end, the section’s membership was 2,489, including 2,129 active and associate members; 332 judicial members; and 28 non-bar members.  The section’s operating budget for the fiscal year was $52,000.

Updated: Jul 10, 2013