Criminal Law Section

Casey R. Stevens, chair

It has been an honor to serve as chair of the Virginia State Bar's Section on Criminal Law for fiscal year 2011-2012.  This year’s officers were:  chair, Casey R. Stevens; vice chair, Lisa K. Caruso; secretary, Francis McQ. Lawrence; and immediate past chair, Carolyn V. Grady. 

The following new members joined the board:  U.S. District Judge Ivan D. Davis;  Assistant Attorney General Samuel E. Fishel IV; General District Judge Michael E. McGinty; Robert G. Morecock of Shuttleworth, Ruloff, Swain, Haddad, and Morecock PC; Theo K. Stamos, deputy commonwealth's attorney, Arlington; and Colette Wallace McEachen, deputy commonwealth's attorney, Richmond. 

The section continued the publication of its newsletter by circulating four editions of the Criminal Law News.       

Newsletter editor, Professor Ronald J. Bacigal, completed the 2012 Supplement to the Capital Case Trial Manual.

The section hosted the 42nd VSB Criminal Law Seminar in Williamsburg on February 3, 2012, and Charlottesville on February 10, 2012.  The program chair and moderator was the Honorable Lisa K. Caruso, commonwealth’s attorney for the County of Dinwiddie. 

The Carrico Professionalism Award was presented at the Williamsburg Seminar to Melinda Douglas, the public defender for the City of Alexandria. 

During the 74th Annual VSB Meeting, the section presented a CLE program titled Big Brother is Watching:  GPS and Cell Tower Technology and Tracking. The program chair and moderator was Andrea L. Moseley of Zwerling, Moseley & Sears PC.

The ection, directed by Judge Ashley Tunner, coordinated obtaining submissions for the December 2012 edition of the Virginia State Bar’s magazine Virginia Lawyer. 

The section ended the year on June 30, 2012 with a total membership of 2,455. 


Updated: Sep 05, 2012