Corporate Counsel

Charles W. Durant, Chair


In June 2017, the Corporate Counsel Section had approximately 1516 members. The Section is the eighth largest of the twenty sections of the VSB.

Special Activities in Fiscal Year 2016-2017

We were pleased to continue our Section online newsletter this year, with a combination of articles, calendar listings and other data to keep our Section members informed of things that may be of interest.  Christopher Gatewood was the leader of this important initiative.

Annual Meeting CLE Programs

The Section co-sponsored, along with the Administrative Law Section, one well-attended showcase continuing legal education (CLE) during the 79th VSB Annual Meeting.  Representatives of the Board of Governors for the Section participated in the development of the CLE program.  The panelists were  Wyatt B. Durrette, Jr. of Durrette Crump PLC; Rebecca Green, Professor and Co-Director, Election Law Program, The College of William and Mary School of Law; Quentin Kidd – Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, Professor of Political Science, and  Director of Wason Center for Public Policy, Christopher Newport University; Hon. Jason Y. Miyares – Member, Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia Beach; and Allison Riggs – Senior Staff Attorney, Voting Rights, Southern Coalition for Social Justice, Durham, NC.  The Moderator was Blake D. Morant – Dean and Robert Kramer Research Professor Law, George Washington University School of Law.

Member Communication

In addition to our electronic newsletter, we sent out several emails to the membership informing them of relevant CLE opportunities.  In addition, we sponsored regional Spring Luncheons in Richmond and Northern Virginia.  We also sponsored a Fall Luncheon in Northern Virginia.  The Luncheons provided opportunities for our members to network and get to know other members of the in-house community in their area as well as offering CLE.

Law Student Seminars

The Section continued its practice of hosting panel presentations at Virginia law schools to share information and insights on corporate in-house practice.  The Section provides meals for the students at each panel discussion.  This year, the Section was able to present a panel discussion at seven of the eight Virginia Law Schools including, UVA, William and Mary, Regent, George Mason, Washington and Lee, Liberty, and Appalachian.  All panels were enthusiastically received by the students and each of the respective deans of career placement thanked the Section for presenting the panels and asked that it be an annual event.   

Officers for 2016-2017

Officers elected for 2017-18 were Marie Appleby, Chair; Naoina C. Gartee, Vice Chair; and Mark E. Newcomb, Secretary.  Charles W. Durant is Immediate Past Chair.

Charles W. Durant, Barbara Fisher, Robert Burger, Jim Lowe, Carol R. Gibbons, David Newsome, Jr., and Mark E. Newcomb will continue on the Board.  Marie Appleby, Naoina C. Gartee were each re-elected to the Board to serve three-year terms.  Mary A. Richardson, Thomas D. Applewhite, and Adam Hark were elected as new members of the Board. 

Updated: Jul 11, 2017