Corporate Counsel Section

Sandra Jones McNinch, chair 

In June 2013, the Corporate Counsel Section had 1,417 members. The section continues to be one of the largest sections of the VSB.

Special Activities in Fiscal Year 2013
We were pleased to reinstate a section newsletter this year, after an absence of a several years.  Going forward, our quarterly newsletter will contain a combination of articles, calendar listings, and other data to keep our section members informed of things that may be of interest. Christopher Gatewood is the leader of this important initiative.

We continued to provide thought-leadership for the corporate counsel community by offering comments on the Supreme Court of Virginia’s proposed amendments to Rules 1A:1 and 1A:3.  Ron Kuykendall led this effort for the Section. 

Annual Meeting CLE Program
The section sponsored a well-attended continuing legal education program. Tom Spahn of McGuireWoods LLP discussed “Ethics Considerations for In-House Counsel.”  This interactive program addressed ethics issues frequently faced by corporate counsel.  Andrew Fisher coordinated this program for the section. 

Member Communication
In addition to our new quarterly newsletter, we sent out several emails to the membership informing them of relevant CLE opportunities.  Also, we continued our new tradition of offering a welcome letter and section membership solicitation information for inclusion in the materials provided by the VSB to lawyers being sworn in by the Supreme Court as corporate counsel members of the VSB.

Law Student Seminars
The section continued its practice of hosting panel presentations at the Virginia law schools to share information and insights on corporate counsel practice. The programs continue to be enthusiastically received by the students, perhaps, in part, because of the free meal offered.   

Officers for 2013-2014
Officers elected for 2013-14 were Andrew G. Fisher, chair, Helen Hight Hart, vice chair, and John Allen Waldrop, secretary. Sandra Jones McNinch is immediate past chair.

Andrew G. Fisher, Helen Hight Hart, Noreen M. Tama and Jeffrey Stradler were each re-elected to the board of governors.  By virtue of his office, John Allen Waldrop will continue on the board.  Charles W. Durant was elected as a new member of the board.


Updated: Jul 10, 2013