Construction Law & Public Contracts

Jennifer A. Mahar, Chair


As of June 2016, the Section had 796 members.  Currently, the Section has 787 members.

Annual CLE – Fall Program

On November 4-5, 2016, the Section hosted the 37th Annual Fall Program at the Boar’s Head Inn in Charlottesville, VA.  Chaired by members Alison R. Mullins and Christopher G. Hill, the program offered 12 CLE credits, including 2 hours of ethics.  The Section again hosted a young lawyers reception on Thursday evening to welcome arriving Section Members.

Annual Activities

On June 16, 2017, the Section partnered with the Litigation Section and the Joint ADR Committee to present a showcase CLE at the Virginia State Bar’s 79th Annual Meeting in Virginia Beach entitled “Expert Witnesses: Who Are They and What Can They Say?”  Coordinated by members, Daniel L. Fitch and Christopher S, Boynton, the program moderator was Kristan Burch, and speakers the Honorable Robert S. Ballou, Magistrate Judge, U.S. District Court, Western District of Virginia, Lauren McLaughlin, and Brian Riopelle.

On September 8, 2016, in combination with Virginia CLE, the Section presented a half-day CLE seminar entitled “Federal Government Contracting: Essential Survival Training.”  Because the program was so well received, the Section is continuing to work with Virginia CLE on a second annual half-day seminar entitled “Federal Government Contracting: Ethics and Public Contracts” to be held on September 12, 2017, in Fairfax, Virginia.  The seminar will be chaired by Shannon J. Briglia.

The Section continued to provide valuable written materials to its membership.  The Section published its Fall and Spring editions of its newsletter under the editorship of Hanna Lee Blake and Jesse S. Keene.  The December 2016 edition of the Virginia Lawyer included several articles on construction law written by our members and edited by Arnie B. Mason.  The Section also updated its Construction Law Handbook to include recent Virginia state and federal court decisions affecting our members’ practices.

Officers for the 2016-2017 Fiscal Year

The officers for the 2016-2017 fiscal year were Jennifer A. Mahar (chair), Christopher S. Boynton (vice chair), J. Barrett Lucy (secretary), Hanna Lee Blake (treasurer) and Shannon J. Briglia (immediate past chair).

New Board Members for 2016-17

Joining the Section Board of Governors in 2016 were Lauren McLaughlin and the Honorable Richard McGrath.

Updated: Jul 14, 2017