Construction Law & Public Contracts Section

by Kristan B. Burch, chair

As of June 2012, the section had 786 members.

Annual CLE – Fall Program
On November 4-5, 2011, the Section hosted the 32nd Fall Program at the Boar’s Head Inn.  The program was titled “Mitigating Losses and Impacts on a Troubled Project – A View from Multiple Perspectives” and offered 12 CLE credits, including 2 hours of ethics credit.  There were 163 registrants for the program.

Annual Meeting
On June 15, 2012, the section co-sponsored a CLE at the Annual Meeting with the Local Government Section titled “Navigating through Minority and Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Programs and Regulations.”

Membership Events
In April 2012, the section conducted a membership drive breakfast in Richmond that featured a free breakfast and 1.0 hour CLE titled “Mediation Ethics.”  In addition to the ethics presentation by the Honorable Arthur B. Vieregg Jr. (retired), the breakfast included a networking component during which guests were given an opportunity to learn more about the benefits of section membership.  This event was organized by Sean M. Howley and hosted by Webb Moore.

Also in April 2012, the section hosted a joint reception with the Construction Section of the Maryland State Bar Association at Union Jack’s in Bethesda, Maryland.  This event was organized by Jennifer A. Mahar.

Member Communications
The section continues to update its handbook annually, with Shannon J. Briglia chairing this work.  In addition, the section, through its newsletter chairs Jennifer Mahar and J. Barrett Lucy, issued two newsletters – one in the fall 2011 and one in the spring 2012.  The handbook and newsletters are available on the Section’s website.

Officers for 2011-2012
The officers for the 2011-2012 were:  Kristan B. Burch (chair), K. Brett Marston (vice chair), Sean Howley (secretary), Michael A. Branca (treasurer), and Todd R. Metz (immediate past chair).

New Members for the 2011-2012
The new board members for 2011-2012 were Hanna Lee Blake, Scott W. Kowalski, and Christopher G. Hill.  In addition, the Honorable Robert Stewart Ballou joined the board as an ex-officio judicial.

Updated: Aug 16, 2012